Robin's Best Ever Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2006
I used feedback from previous reviewer and skipped the tbsp of salt, turned out great. Just a hint of sweetness from the honey to counter the garlic - loved it. I shook some sea salt on the pita and a little on the hummous after it was in the serving dish. Used dried rosemary instead of fresh, and chickpeas instead of garbanzo. Also sprinkled pita and hummous with paprika for presentation. Excellent 5 minute appetizer. Will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bcrocker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
This hummus is fabulous. I've been trying to find a perfect hummus recipe and the search is over. I drizzled 2 tbsp olive oil into the hummus while it was food processing to incorporate it. Next time I will use slightly less salt. LOVED IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
I must say that this is the best hummus recipe I have found. I like to use roasted garlic instead of regular garlic. This recipe also provides a great base for adding all sorts of different ingredients. I sometimes add roasted red peppers or whatever is fresh out of my garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jshuston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mayo, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
This is GREAT hummus! So very easy... took me less than 10 minutes to make. I added a little turmeric and cumin for more flavor. Will definitely make againa and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dunedin, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
I ended up mixing this up with another recipe! I did 1/3 Cup tahini and then added to taste as I went. Used 3 tsp low sodium soy sauce and only 1 gigantic clove of Elephant garlic, the juice of one lemon and added olive oil until I got the consistency I like. The honey was an excellent touch. I am going to use this as my 'base' as I begin to experiment with roasted peppers and ancho chilis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IamSam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Ok, so this is really good and a little spicy from the garlic! I didn't have tahini in the house but really wanted some hummus, so I substituted it with 1 tsp. of no sugar peanut butter...OMG...it is so good! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This hummus is exceptionally good - better than any of the prepackaged brands. I did make some changes according to previous reviews - I cut the salt in half and added a little cumin and a little red pepper flakes. Next time I will cut the honey in 1/2. It was a little sweet for me (hence the 4 stars instead of 5) but I wouldn't take it out entirely, it definitely blends well with the other flavors. I also added an extra clove of garlic and didn't use any oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Era, Michigan, USA
Living In: Boyne City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This recipe worked well but I completely left out the salt, I would taste it before I added any at all as the tahini is salty. I left out the rosemary but added in some chopped artichokes and black olives, a little seasoneed salt and olive oil over the top, add an olive in the middle and it looks (and tastes) like something you ordered in a restaurant. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Surf and Turf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I would not add honey. It is too sweet and clashes with the garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Geo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
I was intrigued by the ingredients, but they did not go well together. Much too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homosassa, Florida, USA
Living In: Freeport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Find out how to make creamy, delicious homemade spinach dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States