Robin's Best Ever Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
I was intrigued by the ingredients, but they did not go well together. Much too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homosassa, Florida, USA
Living In: Freeport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
I used feedback from previous reviewer and skipped the tbsp of salt, turned out great. Just a hint of sweetness from the honey to counter the garlic - loved it. I shook some sea salt on the pita and a little on the hummous after it was in the serving dish. Used dried rosemary instead of fresh, and chickpeas instead of garbanzo. Also sprinkled pita and hummous with paprika for presentation. Excellent 5 minute appetizer. Will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bcrocker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
This was delicious. I brought it to a work potluck and everybody loved it. I couldn't find the Tahini in the store so that ingredient was missing. I'll put it in next time to know how it is :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
This hummus is fabulous. I've been trying to find a perfect hummus recipe and the search is over. I drizzled 2 tbsp olive oil into the hummus while it was food processing to incorporate it. Next time I will use slightly less salt. LOVED IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
I ended up mixing this up with another recipe! I did 1/3 Cup tahini and then added to taste as I went. Used 3 tsp low sodium soy sauce and only 1 gigantic clove of Elephant garlic, the juice of one lemon and added olive oil until I got the consistency I like. The honey was an excellent touch. I am going to use this as my 'base' as I begin to experiment with roasted peppers and ancho chilis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IamSam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
This was too sweet for us and not garlicky enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Eastpointe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
very yummy and easy. I was out of tahini so I used a 3 small table spoons of peanut butter and a few drops of sesame oil and a teasspoon of sesame seeds instead. It turned out very well. A sprinkling of paprika is nice as well. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HoyhoyCooks

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
homebound male. new to cooking. this recipe rocks. leaves much room for adjustment according to personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
I added more honey and no salt. I thought it would of been really good with only one clove of garlic. I love garlic but 3 cloves was to much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
I must say that this is the best hummus recipe I have found. I like to use roasted garlic instead of regular garlic. This recipe also provides a great base for adding all sorts of different ingredients. I sometimes add roasted red peppers or whatever is fresh out of my garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jshuston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mayo, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Find out how to make creamy, delicious homemade spinach dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States