Robey's Blue Crab Deviled Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2011
I loved this idea. I used fresh picked crab mean instead of the store bought. I steamed the crabs with water and vinegar and seasoned them with old bay. The Old Bay just gave it something special and really set these over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Thanks for the great idea. I used sour cream instead of mayonaisse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2004
Very good. Also goes well with a can of shrimp instead of the crab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
If you like crab, and you like deviled egges you will love this recipe. I made this for cook-out and now I have to have these when ever there is an event. Great food. (Had to double the recipe so that some would make it to the party)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKB20

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
These Deviled Eggs were great! I couldn't find Old Bay Seasoning, so I left it out. They were a hit. A great dish for left over boiled eggs at Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Luckily, I followed the advice of some of the reviewers and doctored up the recipe. I mixed all the ingredients and crab first, including adding more mayo, dijon mustard instead of the powder, cayenne, nixed the paprika, added a little onion powder, and loaded it with Old Bay. Kept tasting and messing with it until my base tasted like a crab cake mixture. Then I added about 3/4 of the yellows to that mixture and doctored some more until I liked the taste. I just think this is one of those recipes you have to play with and keep sampling until you get it where you want it. But the end result turned out fabulous and my guests LOVED them. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Try adding the following ingredients to this recipe and you will have a 'keeper': increase mayo to 3/4 cup (use light mayo, of course), 1 tbsp fresh lemon juice, 1 1/2 tsps dijon mustard (instead of powder), 1/2 tsp black pepper, 1/8 tsp salt, 1/8 tsp red pepper (cayenne). Mix with yolks and crab and stuff eggs. Top eggs with a sprinkling of Old Bay or smoked paprika and snipped fresh chives, if desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2003
This is great on a low-carb diet! I added fresh ground pepper to the mix as well. I like my deviled eggs a bit more moist and tangy, I would also add just a bit more mayo. I had 3 halves for breakfast with a cup of coffee. The extra filling is wonderful stuffed in celery sticks for a snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne in Minnesota

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
Filling was a bit dry, so I added an additional 1 to 2 tablespoons of mayo to make it creamier. Also added a tad more Old Bay. These were good, but I prefer traditional deviled eggs. My husband commented, "They are different, but not a keeper."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Followed the recipe they were good but did not go fast as i expected. It seemed to be missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crab-Stuffed Deviled Eggs

Simple deviled eggs are stuffed with crab then topped with even more crab.

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

Dannon Oikos Curried Deviled Eggs

Zesty deviled eggs are a hit at potlucks, picnics, or as a party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States