Robert's Homemade Italian Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
This was my first time making sausage. I halved this recipe using lean ground pork (4% fat) and it was sooo tasty - much, much better than anything store bought. I crushed the spices in a mortar and pestle together and squeezed excess moisture from the ground meat before incorporating everything together. I never made mine into patties, instead I made pizza and stuffed bell peppers with it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Did not add the sugar but all tasted ok will cook again enjoyed by all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Leesburg, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Premo, great taste and less money spent on store bought italian sausage @$6.87 Lb. Any many different styles of it here on www.AllRecipes.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwompa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I just wanted to tell you how much I enjoyed this recipe. I use Italian sausage in my spaghetti and lasagna but now I will never buy the prepared sausage again. My family and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
VERY YUMMY! I probably shouldn't rate this because I made so many changes that it isn't exactly the same recipe (I used all pork, omitted the wine and sugar, and substituted fresh garlic for the garlic powder); however, I was mostly interested in the combination of spices. I loved it! REVIEW UPDATE: I love this combination of spices so much that I now have a large jar of it in my cupboard and I use it for flavoring ground meats (beef, veal, and pork) for different things: meat patties; stuffed peppers; cabbage rolls; and meat balls. I also plan to give jars of it as gifts for Christmas. Robert - Thank you so much for this lovely recipe. I no longer have to go to a gourmet butcher shop to get excellent Italian sausage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
We loved this sausage. Hubby tried it by itself and with a pasta sauce on homemade bread. He said he would give it a "bunch of stars". Thanks for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Loved it. I omit the fennel and anise because I don't care for them. I like this much better than store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Just used this tonight to season up my pasta sauce and it turned out great. I halved the recipe and didn't have any pork on hand and it still came out great. I also didn't have any mace or nutmeg to replace it so I used a pinch (literally) of cloves and it was enough to enhance the flavor without overpowering. Didn't even use casings to make sausage, but mixed it all together in a bowl. Highly recommend, esp if you have ground turkey and don't know what to do with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Love! I make it ground for pizza. I don't use mace, fennel, and it still tastes great. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
This can be made with 2 lbs ground chicken. Very spicy and flavorful, perfect for dry, bland chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SheCookGood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States