Robert's Homemade Italian Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
This was my first time making sausage. I halved this recipe using lean ground pork (4% fat) and it was sooo tasty - much, much better than anything store bought. I crushed the spices in a mortar and pestle together and squeezed excess moisture from the ground meat before incorporating everything together. I never made mine into patties, instead I made pizza and stuffed bell peppers with it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I just wanted to tell you how much I enjoyed this recipe. I use Italian sausage in my spaghetti and lasagna but now I will never buy the prepared sausage again. My family and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
We loved this sausage. Hubby tried it by itself and with a pasta sauce on homemade bread. He said he would give it a "bunch of stars". Thanks for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Did not add the sugar but all tasted ok will cook again enjoyed by all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Leesburg, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Love! I make it ground for pizza. I don't use mace, fennel, and it still tastes great. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
This is good sausage but I think the measurements are off. I doubled this recipe for 6 pounds of meat and came up extremely short in salt. I also noticed the minced onion amount seemed a bit light. I wonder if onion salt would cure both issues I had. I used a sweet red wine and eliminated the sugar because that's what I had and it seems to work with it. Certainly deserves another try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pepper920

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I really enjoyed this recipie, I recommend it to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George Castillo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Superior, Arizona, USA
Living In: Eloy, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Loved it. I omit the fennel and anise because I don't care for them. I like this much better than store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Premo, great taste and less money spent on store bought italian sausage @$6.87 Lb. Any many different styles of it here on www.AllRecipes.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwompa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
This can be made with 2 lbs ground chicken. Very spicy and flavorful, perfect for dry, bland chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SheCookGood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States