Robbi's M&M Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
Best cookies EVERR! Instead of shortening I used 2 sticks of butter and they came out PERFECT! I also didnt use so much salt and baked for a few minutes longer. Adding extra m&ms didnt hurt either! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
838 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
PLEASE NOTE: At culinary school the first thing we learned about cookie making is that when you beat the butter/shortening the friction heats it up the dough. While incorporating the ingredients better it also breaks down the fat in the product. To correct this all you need to do is refrigerate you dough for about 5 minutes before baking. Doing so will re-solidify the fats and stop your cookies from over spreading. This is the base cookie recipe I use for chocolate chip and other cookies, except I use either butter or half shortnenting and half butter. It just depends on the product I am making. You will see a HUGE difference if you try this procedure, guaranteed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
655 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: White Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
After reading all the other reviews, I made this using a 1/2 cup of room temp butter and 1/2 cup butter flavored shortening. They spread slightly on the pan, but not a whole lot, and they had a great flavor. Also, for my oven, a bake time of 8 1/2 minutes got them pretty well baked, and then I let them sit on the pan for an additional 4 minutes, finishing it up. Perfect. I also made a batch of Chocolate Mint M & M cookies by adding a 1/2 cup cocoa to the batter and using candy covered mint pieces. Heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
402 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
WOW! I just made these cookies and they turned out great! I made them with butter only and they turned out just fine. Thanks for such a great recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
177 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
Oh My Gosh!!! I have been looking for a recipe like this for YEARS - just like the cookies I used to get at a shop when I was a kid. These were delicious - a little crispy, a little chewy. I used unsalted butter and next time may reduce the sugar a bit. I thought 3/4 c M&M added to the batter was a little light, so I added a full cup. Well, the mixer smashed them up so next time I will mix them in by hand. Also, will only put 3/4 c in as written; I realized that since you push M&Ms onto the cookies once they are on the sheet, you can control how many candies are in each cookie anyways. Definitely, absolutely a KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
I love this recipe. I do not use shortening. I use 2 sticks of butter and I also add semi-sweet chocolate chips. This makes for really good cookies! I have made these every week for my kids lunch and they love them. I am surprised at how many cookies it makes up! Just for fun...I made 1/8 tsp balls and it made cookies the size of those 100 calorie cookies. My two year old did not waste any cookie, because it was the right size! I counted 130 small cookies thats not counting the ones we ate from each batch out of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
DH LOVED these cookies! I used butter instead of shortening. The cookies flattened out a lot after I took them out of the oven and were sitting on the pan so I added more flour (about 1/4 cup) to the batter and the rest turned out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
This recipe falls far short of spectacular! It tastes like store-bought cookies...so, not good. Try substituting butter for shortening - something I realized I should have done after I'd already made the fatal error of using shortening, which is rarely a good cookie ingredient...what was I thinking? KID NOTE: My son thinks they taste good, but he's a toddler and doesn't have the most refined palate as yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
These cookies are fantastic. There are a lot of people giving negative reviews for flat cookies. Unfortunately they aren't educated enough in baking to know when mostly brown sugar is used the cookies tend to be more flat. Which is why you need to use shortening to make up for that. Butter melts faster and therefore makes cookies spread more. I used half butter flavor shortening and half real butter simply for my own tastes not out of necessity. The other thing is chilling the cookie dough for at least 24 hours will enhance the flavor of the cookies and also make the dough easier to work with. Used my tablespoon cookie scoop to make even cookies. I also prefer my cookies slightly under baked so I only cooked them for 8 min. each. Allow to cool on the cookie sheet for at least 3 min. otherwise they are too fragile to move. Then transferred to a cookie rack. Also keep in mind if cooling on the cookie sheet there will be carry over cooking which can make the cookies crispier. Thanks for a great recipe! Will be used over and over in this household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
I was looking for a traditional M&M cookie recipe and this is it! They were exactly what I was looking for and were delicious!! Because they taste like traditional M&M cookies, one might say they taste store bought but i can assure you they do not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 846) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Kitchen Sink Cookies

If you love your cookies loaded up with everything, here’s the cookie for you!

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States