Roasted and Curried Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Loved it just as is! Didn't change a thing--perfect, spicy, and comforting on a chilly autumn day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This didn't taste very good to me. I think the oregano and cinnamon together didn't taste right. I added coconut milk to it and it still wasn't to good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This was my second try at butternut soup. The roasting adds all the flavor, and super easy to make. With mine I omitted the sugar and oregano, and increased the curry to 2 tsp(mild). I also used one can of condensed stock (284ml) with one can water and it was thin enough. Great base recipe to play with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by feather1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I loved this recipe and the only change I made was i used chicken broth as that is what I had in the house. My husband who is very picky loved it. I also found it freezes great thaw heat and add cream. This is a keeper thanks for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Collver

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Excellent recipe. The curry and cinnamon give the flavour depth without making it too rich, which is something I find with many squash soups. I left the brown sugar out, as my husband and I are "eating clean," and my mother-in-law said it was the best soup she's tasted. Very healthy and delicious-a great combo for nourishment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I made a few changes to this recipe. It has now become a favorite both of my family and at work! I used 2 medium butternut squash instead of 1. It gives a bit more volume for lunches or dinner the next night. I roasted a 2 in. piece of fresh ginger with the garlic. Instead of just using the 6 cups of broth I combined 2 cups of broth slowly while blening the squash, then while heating the soup with the seasonings I added 1 cup of heavy cream (it's MUCH better with a few extra calories) and 1 cup of coconut milk. I added about 2 cups more broth (I used chicken instead of vegetable) if the soup was a bit too thick. I felt that the brown sugar was not necessary so Idon't use it. I top the soup with light sour cream and finely chopped basil. I promise, this is the BEST.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I roasted 1.5 butternut squash, 1 onion,half a large carrot,half an orange pepper,several cloves of garlic in skin,1 potato, 1 sweet potato, then scooped out the squash flesh and squeezed out the roasted garlic and de-skinned the orange pepper, I sauteed 1 stick celery in 2 tablespoons butter and added curry powder,cumin,paprika,cinnamon, nutmeg,salt,black pepper then all the rougly chopped roasted vegetables, mixed around over the heat for a bit, then added lots of vegetable stock,then added some maple syrup and brown sugar and more seasoning as it needed it.a few bay leaves and freshly chopped parsley and i turned off the heat for the flavour to mingle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaymanClair

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Excellent flavor! One suggestion - I turn the squash halves flesh side down and peel off the skin. Much easier than trying to scoop out every bit of the delicious flesh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
It was too sweet for our liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Followed the recipe exactly, but felt that there were too many other flavors overpowering the squash. In the future, I'd cut back on garlic and onion, and leave out the cinnamon, nutmeg, and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hippocakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States