Roasted and Curried Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
It's quite good. I sped up the process by cooking the squash in the microwave first. Added one chopped apple with the onion & garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MoonwaterBarb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middleport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Made this tonight for the first time. Really great flavor -- perfect for a chilly November evening. I used only 5 cups of broth for a thicker soup. It worked, but it might have been a little TOO thick. Your mileage may vary. I'd definitely take the other reviewers' advice and use coconut milk instead of yogurt next time -- the yogurt tends to clump when you put it into the hot soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Really loved this one. I had to tweak it, though since I only had 1/2 of a butternut squash and had forgotten to pick another up. I had 1/2 of a butternut squash and added 1 sweet potato and 1 potato to it. I followed the recipe then, but also added some grilled chicken to it. De-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This soup is so incredible, I could not believe I made it myself. It's rich, flavorful and filling--A perfect low calorie snack for a fall day. I made this once but I am making it again and doubling the recipe so I don't run out so fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Delicious. The only thing I did differently was to add a little more brown sugar and curry powder, but that's my own personal taste. It is heavy on onion flavor, but that could have also been my vegetable broth. I didn't add the yogurt to the soup, because I wasn't serving it right away, but I did add a nice healthy dollop of sour cream after I heated up a bowl and sprinkled some pepitas on top for crunch factor. Lovely and perfect for the fall days ahead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeatleMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
This soup was delicious. I added about a 1-2" piece of ginger to the roasting veggies, used 5 cups of broth instead of 6 and used coconut milk instead of yogurt. Otherwise did everything as per the recipe. Delicious! The whole family loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
WOW this soup is delicious!! The roasted veges make all the difference. I did the garlic in a roaster with a slight drizzle of olive oil (don't know if that affects the taste at all - probably not), and because I am low-carb but not low-fat, I used about 3/4 bar of philly cream cheese instead of yogurt. My VERY picky 8 year old couldn't get enough of this soup!!! First time eating it, and already a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I am so happy to have found this soup! I recently had it at a wedding and fell in love. One clarification question: Does the yogurt go into the entire recipe or is it used simply as a garnish?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
This was my first attempt at a butternut squash soup and it was a slam dunk hit! My friends wanted the recipe. I froze half of it and later in the week thawed and heated and it was just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I'm eating this right now. It's delicious. I made one change: I used coconut milk (lite) instead of yogurt and part of the veg broth. It's very flavourful. (Also used cumin, coriander, paprika instead of oregano, cinnamon, nutmeg (guess that's more than one change.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oliver Pit

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oliver, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States