Roasted and Curried Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
This is a fantastic recipe! I make it every fall! I double the garlic, omit the bay leaf, and triple the curry. We like flavor!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Townsend, Washington, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This was delicious and I love that it uses plain yogurt instead of fat laden cream, a very tasty healthy recipe! Roasting all the veggies gave it outstanding flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
This soup is pretty good. I'm giving it 4 stars instead of five because 1) I've never had squash soup before and don't have anything to compare it to, and 2) I didn't quite follow the recipe exactly. I've made this twice, the first time I only used half a large onion and four garlic gloves b\c two whole onions and a whole head of garlic seemed like way too much. I also added a bit of cilantro like one reviewer recommended and approx. 1/2 cup of half and half. It turned out good but I thought the curry was too strong, and also the roasted garlic didn't . . . ahem, agree with me. The second time I skipped the garlic all together and used half a tsp of curry instead of 1 whole tsp. I also added a dollop of sour cream as a garnish when I served it. I like it better the second time I think. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Really enjoyed this soup, even my brother who thinks anything with a bunch of veggies in it is bad said it was great. I did substitute the coconut milk for the yogurt as other reviewers suggested but I didn't want to waste and put an entire can which is 400ml instead of the 250ml I maybe should have to equal the amount of yogurt... I thought it was a little too much coconut. So I added a little half and half cream I had on hand to even it out a bit. I didn't measure out any of the spices and definitly added more curry and cinnamon! Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krystal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I Didn't Like it thought it to rich . My wife loved it. We roasted carrots Red Peppers and onions ,Saved the Red Pepper for a garnish. Next time won't make it as the main course
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
For a variation, I used a butternut and an acorn squash, added a few carrots and a can pumpkin and cayenne pepper. Roasted the vegetables on foil and the clean up was easy. I used a stick blender and it went really fast. I made a large batch and have several servings in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
mmmm warm and yummy! I left out the oregano and brown sugar and used a 1/2 cup of whipping cream instead of yogurt. this soup is a great way to warm up on a cool fall day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIKALA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
I'm on a restricted diet so I had to change the yogurt to 1% cottage cheese, left out the brown sugar and it still turned out amazing! I hope to make this for my friends as is for a harvest party because I can tell it will be even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Loved it just as is! Didn't change a thing--perfect, spicy, and comforting on a chilly autumn day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This didn't taste very good to me. I think the oregano and cinnamon together didn't taste right. I added coconut milk to it and it still wasn't to good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States