Roasted Zucchini Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I was very excited to try this recipe but it was not good, not even a little good. I was trying to think of advice to make this more palatable - maybe try grilling the vegetables, or broil the vegetables at the end of the roast, maybe try smoked mozzarella cheese, maybe try white sauce instead of red sauce. My ultimate recommendation is to go straight to a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
This was pretty good except I overcooked my pasta. Otherwise I liked it. It was a good way to use some of the bountiful zucchini from the garden! I did add a little mozzarella to the layers just because I love cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Nothing too creative. Tomato basil sauce for flavor. Zucchini , squash, and onion. Use refrigerated tortellinis. Top off with a bunch 1+ cup of parmesan cheese. Awesome conclusion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anthony Weirich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laurel
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I added fresh minced garlic and fresh mushrooms to my roasted veggies. For the pasta I used lumaconi noodles. Sprinkled Parmesan on the top before putting mozerella on top. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Others said this was too dry; before placing the penne pasta in a casserole/baking dish spray with non-stick spray. Place a little bit of a good marinara sauce (Bertolli brand with burgandy wine flavor) in the bottom of the dish, add the penne pasta & marinara sauce, toss lightly to coat the penne. Then top the coated pasta with any remaining marinara sauce. -- Meanwhile, roast the zucchini & onion slices (one onion). -- Top pasta with zucchini & onion mixture, then a good parmesan cheese. --- I lastly sliced lengthwise 3-4 roma tomatoes to place on top, salt & pepper and/or Mrs. Dash garlic seasoning. Cover with plastic wrap; set in refrigerator overnight. Before baking bring casserole to room temperature, bake. Serves 8+ with a good Italian salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Kemah, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
We enjoyed this but I likely won't make it again. It was a tad dry but we did enjoy it for dinner. The leftovers were tossed out since no one was interested in seconds. Besides being a little on the dry side - you need to be prepared to add some additional seasoning to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Tried it tonight and it was great! I added two cloves of garlic (minced) with the zucchini and onions, and skipped heating the marinara sauce separately (seemed like overkill). Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by busymama
Reviewed: May 18, 2013
This recipe has a lot of potential. It is a simple and filling vegetarian dish. I only used half an onion and added mushrooms and a couple cloves of fresh, minced garlic while tossing the vegetables with olive oil and it came out pretty good. I used the parmesan cheese, but think I will try mozzarella next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Zucchini and Ricotta Casserole

See how to make a simple roasted zucchini casserole.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States