Roasted Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I'm giving this a 4 star with just one small change that I hope will bring it to a 5 star fot most people trying this delicious snak. I put the yams slices in a 1 gal. size ziplock bag and added the oil and shook the bag until evenly coated with oil. Then sprinkled on the salt and pepper after arranging on the cookie sheet. Also, for those trying to cut down on sodium, a sprinkle of salt substitute with any Mrs. Dash seaonings or similar "zero sodium" seasonings gives fantastic flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
312 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GhöstPepper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
I really enjoyed this recipe. As one of those individuals who often times wants something simple and tasty without adding sugar or sweetener this is the perfect thing. I ended up using two yams and about a tablespoon extra oil and they turned out perfect! I ended up leaving them in the oven about 15 minutes longer as I like them extra soft and sweet. Not only healthy but also looks charming as an addition to any meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Absolutely love this recipe! Delicious flavour. Simple in-house ingredients (used coarse sea salt rather than kosher salt). Quick to fix. Have made it for my family and also for dinner guests. It was a hit with all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I have been making this for years. So easy, healthy and yummy! I usually leave the peels on cut the yams into one inch chunks. Then toss with olive oil and montreal steak seasoning (it has garlic and red pepper as well as salt and black pepper). Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
These are one of my favorite things. I could eat them as a meal anytime. I let them cook for at least 45 minutes - I like them well done, and oddly enough the little burnt pieces are the tastiest! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AdiCroft

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Nice & simple. Loved it. Pretty side dish and a great way to make yams without all the butter & sugar. Definitely shake up your slices in a ziploc bag with the olive oil to make things even easier. :) These yams look gorgeous on a plate next to sauteed spinach and a steak. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This is a delicious, simple recipe. It's hearty, and looks lovely on a plate. I spiced it up a little by adding potato slices, and mixing in some minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tmlaney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
I made these exactly as stated and we loved them. They are really healthy and tasty! They are definitely going in my recipe box. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rolling Prairie, Indiana, USA
Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
This was delicious but I will reduce the salt next time. Easy to cook, easy to clean up. I also added some cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emarika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VeXedPiNk
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Thank you for giving me a recipe that will FINALLY get my fiance to eat yams!! This recipe is fantastic because you can use whatever herbs and spices you'd like to spice it up! My personal favourite is 2 tsp Montreal Steak Seasoning, 1 tsp garlic powder, 1 tsp dried basil, 1/2 tsp dried dill, 1/2 tsp seasoning salt, 1/2 tsp pepper. I toss my yam slices in a mixing bowl with seasonings and oil, then spread flat on an oiled and tin-foil lined baking sheet. Bake at 350 F for 30 mins, flipping halfway through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeXedPiNk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

How to Make Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make roasted Brussels sprouts and cipollini onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States