Roasted Winter Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Truly incredible. My vegetable-wary fiance had 3 helpings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Yummy. This was really great. I found however that there the quantity of vegetables indicatged in the recipe was in excess of what I needed. Perhaps our Canadian parsnips and rutabagas are bigger than the ones you guys have in the US, however, I ended up cutting back on the veggies, and still making a huge pot of soup. I left some of the veggies in pieces, rather than puree all of them, to add a bit of texture to the soup...but I loved it, my kids loved it too. Great one..thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by esiuolm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thornhill, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I made this for Thanksgiving 2 years ago for something a little different than your typical T-Day sides and everyone loved it! Every year, I get phone calls from half the family making sure that I'm making it again this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Cooper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mentor, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
This soup was very tasty. I roasted the vegetables several days in advance and kept in the fridge. Tonight I simply made 10 cups of chicken soup base with bouillon cubes then added the vegetables and pureed. We added 1/2 pint heavy cream before serving and skipped the balsamic vinegar and oil. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEWORLEY
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
This is a great, soothing winter soup. The flavors were subtle, but blended very well together. I was put in charge of bringing a soup to Thanksgiving dinner - this will definately be the one. Thank you so much for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MtHigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cardamum
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
Very delicious soup! I made a few changes...skipped the step to make the rosemary oil. I just used regular oil and then added some rosemary to the soup. Also, I added a couple tablespoons of honey to the roasting veggies to add some extra sweetness. Like a few others, I added about 1/2 cup half and half at the end. It was spectacular...the balsamic vinegar drizzled on top was inspired! Crushed pistachios would probably be good on top, too, although my son is allergic to nuts so we didn't try it. Also, there was huge variation in rutabaga size at the store, so I just used one medium-large sized rutabaga and it seemed to be the right amount. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
This was incredibly delicious. Instead of making the rosemary oil, I just tossed two big sprigs of it into the stock while it simmered. It pretty much fell apart so I just pulled the stems out before adding the veg. I also read the recipe wrong and didn't simmer the vegetables in the stock, just blended them in small batches in the blender with a ladleful of broth. Mixed the whole lot back into the pot and simmer it for a few minutes to blend. Came out great!! This does make an almost obscene amount of soup, though. I should have halved it. Hopefully it will freeze well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Wenger Woodburn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I was a little hesitant about making this at first since I am honestly not much of a vegetable person, but I really wanted to try out my white truffle oil and this was the first recipe I found. This soup was absolutely amazing. My husband and I loved it. We made it exactly as written with no substitutions and thought it was great. It will be a staple in our house this winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Silky and roasty goodness. The store I went to didn't have rutabagas so I substituted celery root (celeriac). I just thought that flavor would work well. It did! If your knife isn't the sharpest and you have trouble cutting through hard-skinned squash just microwave it for a couple minutes. That softens it enough to cut easily, and we are pureeing it anyway. This soup feels like you are eating something with cream, but there is no cream here at all. The fresh rosemary really makes it, dried just wouldn't be the same here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Great way to use winter vegetables. I halved the recipe and added a whole yellow onion and a few carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States