Roasted Winter Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cardamum
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
Very delicious soup! I made a few changes...skipped the step to make the rosemary oil. I just used regular oil and then added some rosemary to the soup. Also, I added a couple tablespoons of honey to the roasting veggies to add some extra sweetness. Like a few others, I added about 1/2 cup half and half at the end. It was spectacular...the balsamic vinegar drizzled on top was inspired! Crushed pistachios would probably be good on top, too, although my son is allergic to nuts so we didn't try it. Also, there was huge variation in rutabaga size at the store, so I just used one medium-large sized rutabaga and it seemed to be the right amount. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
Delicious. A great way to use winter root vegetables. The balsamic vinegar adds a nice zing and contrasts well with the richness and smoothness of the roasted vegetables. Try throwing in cloves of garlic (in skin) to the roasting vegetables, as well as an onion. Add or substitute a few carrots or maybe some celeriac.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
It came together really nicely; the creaminess of the soup was very rich without needing to add dairy. I used a daikon radish to substitute for parsnips, and it worked well. Try leaving the skins on the red potatoes for added color (tiny red flecks) and nutrition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
I made this soup last night It was terrific. It was very filling. I served it with garlic bread a perfect meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This was good, but to save the time and effort of peeling and cutting up the rutabegas, I used 4 turnips instead. I also sprinkled ground ginger over the vegetables while they were roasting, and added and extra sprig of rosemary as everything simmered together, and removed it before blending. I also skipped making the rosemary oil, and instead finely chopped the rosemary before mixing it with the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I was a little hesitant about making this at first since I am honestly not much of a vegetable person, but I really wanted to try out my white truffle oil and this was the first recipe I found. This soup was absolutely amazing. My husband and I loved it. We made it exactly as written with no substitutions and thought it was great. It will be a staple in our house this winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
This soup was very tasty. I roasted the vegetables several days in advance and kept in the fridge. Tonight I simply made 10 cups of chicken soup base with bouillon cubes then added the vegetables and pureed. We added 1/2 pint heavy cream before serving and skipped the balsamic vinegar and oil. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEWORLEY
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
This was incredibly delicious. Instead of making the rosemary oil, I just tossed two big sprigs of it into the stock while it simmered. It pretty much fell apart so I just pulled the stems out before adding the veg. I also read the recipe wrong and didn't simmer the vegetables in the stock, just blended them in small batches in the blender with a ladleful of broth. Mixed the whole lot back into the pot and simmer it for a few minutes to blend. Came out great!! This does make an almost obscene amount of soup, though. I should have halved it. Hopefully it will freeze well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Wenger Woodburn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
After making this, I was disappointed. It was a bit less thick and more bitter/ less balanced than I had anticipated. I went back to the store and picked up a medium sweet potato and 1 lb of carrots, roasted those and pureed them into the soup. Add a star! Much more to my liking, more balanced flavors, thicker. I will make it again, but with the modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
This is a great, soothing winter soup. The flavors were subtle, but blended very well together. I was put in charge of bringing a soup to Thanksgiving dinner - this will definately be the one. Thank you so much for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MtHigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States