Roasted Winter Squash Seeds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
What a treat I could have given the men in the Navy and Marines when I was cooking for them. I have thrown out tons and tons of seeds back then. We didn't use pumpkins often but acorn and butternut were staples. I used acorn to try this made with canola oil and won't throw out seeds anymore! GREAT IDEA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whats his face

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Branch, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
My dh loves Pumpkin seeds and I've never made any, so saw this and gave it a go :-) Only negative was it took me alot longer to seperate the seeds from the "string" flesh, but will do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I love roasted squash seeds! I have never used oil to roast mine, though. I simply stir the seeds every five minutes to prevent sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
218 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
Quick and easy. I just turned the oven temp down after roasting my squash, and popped the prepared seeds in. 15 minutes later, the snack is done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
this was really yummy. my only complaint is that i just had seeds from one spaghetti squash(not the recipe's fault!) next time i make these i will be sure to have more. i think the seeds from a pumpkin would yield a better amount since they are so addicting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
i wondered if they're turn out like pumpkin seeds and yes they did only a little smaller. at 275 for 15 minutes turned out perfect. used cooking spray instead of olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Petoskey, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
We just did this with Spaghetti Squash seeds and they were great. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HJCARY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emporia, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
Absolutely delicious! Mine just got out of the oven and they're sooo good. Really awesome. I've tried recipes with other spices before, but this plain and simple way of doing it is much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Opaka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
Very addicting and a great idea, especially right now when squash is cheap. I use butternut squash seeds. I like to put the raw seeds in a covered bowl w/the olive oil and some seasoned (Lawry's) salt. I make them in my pizza oven, so I have to continuously stir, some get a little burnt, but it adds to the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MzKitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eyota, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2004
These were great. A rich nutty taste and so healthy. My kids loved them...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

See how to turn fresh pumpkin seeds into delicious, crunchy, good-for-you snacks.

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States