Roasted Winter Squash Seeds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
oh this is so much better than pumpkin seeds! Mm,nummy!. Addictive thin shell. I reduce the heat in case I leave the house for a sec. Nuts are easy to scorch. The lowest on can go to dry things slow is 140 in the oven with the oven door open
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
easy and a great snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
These were easy and delicious, but it took them a lot longer than 15 minutes to bake/toast. I finally took them out of the oven after 35 minutes when they were somewhat golden brown. And they never did "pop". I'll definitely make them again, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
We added a bit of Sonny's Crazy Cajun Miraculous to the mix and they were a hit. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarefootMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I was recently making a butternut squash recipe from this site and started thinking how much I loved pumpkin seeds and how these seeds looked similar. Before even looking at this recipe, I had rinsed and removed them from their pulp (much easier than removal from pumpkin pulp...just kind of squeeze the pulp and they pop out), added some sea salt to them while still wet, then tossed them in the oven at 400 while the squash was cooking. You DO NOT need oil or cooking spray! And you can cook at a higher temp. Just stir in the spices you want while they are still wet, then toss them in a single layer, on tinfoil on a baking sheet. Stir with a fork every 5 or 10 minutes and taste until you find the consistency you like. I personally like just sea salt as you don't lose the nutty taste of the seeds and did 25 minutes at 400. So nutty and tasty!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ93

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Easy and tasted great! Was going to save some for hubby to try when he gets home, but can't stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingCutie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I have tried this 3 times and it is really good, but it really is a lot more work than 25 mins. It took about an hour for me. It is really hard to get all the stuff off of the squash seeds, dry them, and keep them from sticking to the paper towel. I baked mine for 30 mins. because I like them nice and crunchy. I also used pattypan squash seeds and it worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I did this with butternut squash seeds. Sprinkled a little cayenne on them. Love it! But it took a lot longer than 15 minutes to cook to where they were crunchy instead of chewy - more like 35 minutes. Addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
So easy, so good. I roasted my spaghetti squash seeds for 15 minutes at 350 degrees on a pan below the pan which held the squash halves roasting. The seeds were delicious! I agree with the person who said they're like popcorn. Mmmm. After rinsing in a bowl I patted off the seeds on a kitchen towel, which helped pick up some of the stray squash innards. I will definitely make this again whenever I have fresh squash! (Update: made again with seeds from pie pumpkin, and the seeds bake for 15 min at 350 whether or not I have anything else in the oven.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I used lemon-infused oil and sea salt, and the flavor was fantastic. However, I don't really think this was long enough/hot enough to create crunchy seeds. They're a little too pulpy still for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taylor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

See how to turn fresh pumpkin seeds into delicious, crunchy, good-for-you snacks.

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States