Roasted Winter Squash Seeds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I did this with butternut squash seeds. Sprinkled a little cayenne on them. Love it! But it took a lot longer than 15 minutes to cook to where they were crunchy instead of chewy - more like 35 minutes. Addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
So easy, so good. I roasted my spaghetti squash seeds for 15 minutes at 350 degrees on a pan below the pan which held the squash halves roasting. The seeds were delicious! I agree with the person who said they're like popcorn. Mmmm. After rinsing in a bowl I patted off the seeds on a kitchen towel, which helped pick up some of the stray squash innards. I will definitely make this again whenever I have fresh squash! (Update: made again with seeds from pie pumpkin, and the seeds bake for 15 min at 350 whether or not I have anything else in the oven.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I used lemon-infused oil and sea salt, and the flavor was fantastic. However, I don't really think this was long enough/hot enough to create crunchy seeds. They're a little too pulpy still for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taylor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
These taste great, but had to increase the temperature to 375 and cooking time to 30 minutes. First batch came out raw, second batch perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
So tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Yummy! I'd add less salt for my personal taste next time. I threw in a pinch of cayenne. That was an even better ideas than I thought it would be. If you like spicy snacks, I'd highly recommend that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I had some organic acorn squash seeds leftover from preparing my 10 month old daughter's baby food. Decided to roast the seeds rather than toss them and they were very good. I bet you could experiment with a variety of seasonings (cinnamon, nutmeg, parmesan cheese, popcorn seasoning, brown sugar or honey) for different tastes; plain with olive oil is perfect to me, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I just made these....while supper was cooking. Love them! I used olive oil since the oven temp was low, but I think next time I'll use my grapeseed oil, since it's a medium to high heat oil that does not turn into the bad stuff like olive oil does when used in medium/high heat.... [my husband ate most of them after supper]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Delicious and Addictive! As others suggested I dry roasted them for about 35 minutes, then added seasoning (paprika and salt).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I wasn't sure the trouble of sorting and cleaning the seeds would be worth it but these are very good. I used a combination of spaghetti squash and acorn squash seeds, a bit of olive oil and garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GramCracker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Damascus, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

See how to turn fresh pumpkin seeds into delicious, crunchy, good-for-you snacks.

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States