Roasted Winter Root Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I scaled this way down for a family Sunday lunch with roast lamb, minted peas and baby leeks. The only thing I did differently was to add in some sweet potatoes and about 4 cloves of garlic. We loved it! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sue

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I rarely give out 5 stars for anything, but this one earned them! My mother made this recipe last year and loved it. She suggested I try it. I only tried a rutabaga once before and wasn't a huge fan, but in this recipe you'd never know it wasn't a potato. Parboiling in advance makes this recipe super simple. Its easy to divide too, I made this for just my husband and I, so we didn't need 15 lbs of veggies. I used just 8 oz of each vegetable and estimated the rest of the ingredients. It turned out perfect. I will be making this again and again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Great side dish for a fall/winter meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron G.
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I've made this for a party. I also included sweet potatoes, onions, and three different kinds of other potatoes. I mixed everything in my large roaster, deleted the basil. Portion everything into heavy duty foil, put in oven or over the campfire. This is exceptional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Glass baking dish is WAY better than a metal dish. Just tried it both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
We love this. Try it once, you will use it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Make double the amount of what you need for a meal. Use half as a side dish. Add leftovers and the rest of the roasted veggies to beef stew, cooked without root vegetables, for another meal. Makes for a more flavorful beef stew -- with vegetables that haven't been cooked to death for hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ThompsonFamily
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
My Hubby made this laste night, it's so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThompsonFamily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I scaled this back to 6 servings. The only thing I did not like was the basil flavor with these veggies. I will try this again, but maybe use some different spices to replace the basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Roast Winter Vegetables

Learn how to roast seasoned root vegetables to bring out their earthy flavors.

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

Chef John’s Root Vegetable Gratin

See how to make a simple cheesy gratin with root vegetables and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States