Roasted Winter Root Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Delicious. Didn't have rutabaga but had everything else; added potatoes. Per Linda-da's suggestion, used a glass baking dish but usually do so anyway. I might add some onion next time and instead of basil would consider a bit of Rosemary. One thing's for sure, I'll do the root veggies the same way again. Excellent idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
I made this a few times when these veggies were in season. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Watson Gloss

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Make double the amount of what you need for a meal. Use half as a side dish. Add leftovers and the rest of the roasted veggies to beef stew, cooked without root vegetables, for another meal. Makes for a more flavorful beef stew -- with vegetables that haven't been cooked to death for hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
We love this. Try it once, you will use it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Glass baking dish is WAY better than a metal dish. Just tried it both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I've made this for a party. I also included sweet potatoes, onions, and three different kinds of other potatoes. I mixed everything in my large roaster, deleted the basil. Portion everything into heavy duty foil, put in oven or over the campfire. This is exceptional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Great side dish for a fall/winter meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron G.
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ThompsonFamily
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
My Hubby made this laste night, it's so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThompsonFamily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I scaled this back to 6 servings. The only thing I did not like was the basil flavor with these veggies. I will try this again, but maybe use some different spices to replace the basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I rarely give out 5 stars for anything, but this one earned them! My mother made this recipe last year and loved it. She suggested I try it. I only tried a rutabaga once before and wasn't a huge fan, but in this recipe you'd never know it wasn't a potato. Parboiling in advance makes this recipe super simple. Its easy to divide too, I made this for just my husband and I, so we didn't need 15 lbs of veggies. I used just 8 oz of each vegetable and estimated the rest of the ingredients. It turned out perfect. I will be making this again and again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Roast Winter Vegetables

Learn how to roast seasoned root vegetables to bring out their earthy flavors.

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

Chef John’s Root Vegetable Gratin

See how to make a simple cheesy gratin with root vegetables and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States