Roasted Vidalia Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Butterfly Flutterby
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
Wow, so easy and yet so tasty and fun! I made these exactly to recipe except placed them in the oven for approximately 30 minutes with baking potatoes and then placed them on the grill beside our steaks for another 15 minutes. They were done to perfection! See submitted photo. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2006
Very good flavor, but the onions were nowhere near ready in 15 minutes. I had to put them back in for another 15 minutes, so, for me, it was 30 minutes. Worth the effort though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
Wow, these definitely do taste just like french onion soup! I didn't use any butter and added a little garlic powder. We did these on the grill and they ended up a bit mushy. One word of advice if you're doing them on the grill - poke a few holes for the moisture to escape!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
for an added treat, place a slice of swiss cheese on each onion before you remove it from the oven. wait until it has started to melt before removing from the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
Definately add some crushed garlic, but go easy on the salt as the boullion cube is very salty....Sprinkle with a little fresh grated parmesean cheese and a little paprika at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Ohmygosh! These are so good! I've made them a few times and they always taste great! Just like french onion soup but without the hassle. I've even used yellow onions and they're okay, but I prefer using the vidalia. I added some crushed fresh garlic for added flavour. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by britishcolumbiagirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
This was a recipe that I had forgotten about ... what a shame. The family LOVED these and welcomed them back on the menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judi Leaming

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chestertown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
This is easy and delicious. We grilled the onions on the grill for 30 minutes (as mentioned before) and they were melt in your mouth. Thanks Lotusflower for a new family tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeslieAitken

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Truro, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
Yep, it does taste a little like french onion soup. I give it five stars 'cause I really like baked onions and the beef bouillon cube gives it a real favor kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
I add a bit of garlic powder or minced garlic. We cook these on the grill for 30-45 minutes depending upon how big the onions are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Roasted Asparagus with Prosciutto & Poached Egg

See how to make a classic spring asparagus dish.

Maple Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Bacon

Sweet and smoky roasted Brussels sprouts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States