Roasted Vidalia Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Great side dish. Try wrapping the onions in bacon and sprinkling a small amount brown sugar on top. And if you cut cross slices 3/4 way through the onions they cook faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
These are excellent! The best is when you go to a farmers market and get the great big ones! I follow this recipe, but I also add soy and Worcestershire sauce on the top with fresh ground pepper and some kosher salt. Another way my mom used to do it was to add a little brown sugar if you want more sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
This recipe was just ok. It smelled much better than it tasted. I made 3 onions for a cookout with 6 people and I had 2 onions left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellysc99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chatsworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Tasted great although watch putting in a whole cube I thought the first time I made it, it was a little salty but of course it would depend on the size of onion. The next time I used a sprinkle of the granules and smeared it with the butter. This way seemed to spread the flavor throughout the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
I don't know what I did wrong, but my butter all melted and the boullion cube was still almost completely intact inside the onion. I cooked 7mins longer than the instructions said because they still didn't seem done, but even then the inner layers were like eating raw onion. A great idea, but it definitely didn't work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
Wow, these definitely do taste just like french onion soup! I didn't use any butter and added a little garlic powder. We did these on the grill and they ended up a bit mushy. One word of advice if you're doing them on the grill - poke a few holes for the moisture to escape!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
This is great and simple! Needed 30 minutes, though. I also added garlic to the butter and bouillion and always use Vidalias. A big hit served with steaks or burgers! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Lake, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Great recipe. After preparing it during a campground dinner everyone asked for the recipe. I have never had that kind of a response from one recipe..... I did not change recipe at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
I thought it was great! Really easy to make, too. It does definitely need to cook longer than 15 minutes though. 30 minutes at least.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
I enjoyed it, but my husband didn't. He's more into cooking white onions on the grill with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KYLYNN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Roasted Asparagus with Prosciutto & Poached Egg

See how to make a classic spring asparagus dish.

Maple Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Bacon

Sweet and smoky roasted Brussels sprouts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States