Roasted Vidalia Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Tastes almost like French onion soup. I used one yellow onion, EVOO, chicken bouillon cube and the seasonings. Bakes in foil at 375 for 30-40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: May 11, 2011
I’ve wanted to try this for a long time, but never got around to it until now. I will say, the flavor is very good, however that’s where my praise for this recipe ends. I had to roast mine way, way longer than 15 minutes, more like an hour. Even after an hour the very middle of the onion wasn’t done. These were also very messy to serve, at least for me. I ended up putting them in a shallow bowl on top of the dinner plate to help contain the juices. I doubt that I’ll be making this again, but I’m glad I finally tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: May 4, 2011
This was absolutely delicious!!! I didn't think they were to salty but I guess it just depends on the size of your onion too. I roasted for about 40 minutes to make sure it was soft and yummy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bergy
Reviewed: May 4, 2011
I love Vidalia Onions and this recipe did them justice. Instead of cubes of beef broth I used Savory Choice Liquid Broth concentrat. Oven time was perfect. Thanks for sharing a tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I have been making this recipe for years and in the summer it rates as a family favorite! Easy to do on the grill, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I don't like giving bad rating but is was not really good, was not the worst thing I ever eaten but close. There was lots that could save this onion thanks for sharing and giving me base to build on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOLJO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
These were really good. I had to cook them longer, though. Also, I added a little garlic powder on top. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Robinson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mableton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I really did not enjoy this recipe. I tried it once and the 15 minutes barely cooked the onion and the butter and bouillon cube did not melt. I decided to give it a second try, this time cooking for 45 minutes and the onion still could have used more time in the oven and the bouillon cube still did not dissolve all the way... Over all not impressed and I would avoid this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
This has got to be one of my most favorite summer foods. I made this several years back for the first time when I saw Paula Deen make it on her show. After I tried it myself, it was over. I was hooked. Absolutely delicious. NOTE: I don't use extra salt because the bouillon is pretty salty on it's own and I also don't use the paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Excellent! Very yummy. Just make sure you don't put too much salt b/c the bouillon cube is already salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Orangette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Roasted Asparagus with Prosciutto & Poached Egg

See how to make a classic spring asparagus dish.

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States