Roasted Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2002
Just so everyone knows, the only way to make this recipe and have it turn out well is to use FRESH ROSEMARY AND THYME! I made the mistake thinking that it wouldn't be a big deal using dried...but I was wrong. I've read so many good things about this recipe to only have it turn out pretty bad. The dried thyme overpowered the taste of the dish. I may make this again (using fresh spices) but I still have a bad taste in my mouth from the veggies I just made. Either way, it was a learning experience!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2214 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
Easy & so good! I didn't have any winter squash, but I added baby carrots & sliced zucchini. One thing I did different, I put the root vegetables (onion, potatoes & carrots) in one bowl & the more delicate vegetables (peppers & zucchini) in another bowl, they I divided the oil/vinegar/herb mixture between the two bowls. I put the root vegetables in the oven first & let them roast for 30 minutes before adding the other vegetables at the last 10 or 15 minutes. That way they stayed bright colored & didn't get mushy. I took them to a potluck dinner & there wasn't a single bite leftover. Great, healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1975 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This recipe was SO good! I really had never found a good way to roast vegetables that didn't sound complicated (put this veggie in, take this one out, lower the temp, put the oven on broil, stir every 3 minutes...), until now! I took this dish to my brother's house, and they wanted to keep all the leftovers! The only thing I did differently was to omit butternut squash, and up the ratio of balsamic vinegar to olive oil. Oh, I also used salt and pepper in the dressing. I used 1 large red onion, 1 sweet potato, 3 new potatoes, half a bag of baby carrots, grape tomatoes, crimini mushrooms, red bell peppers, zucchini, and I used dried rosemary, thyme and basil (I already had dried) for the seasonings. I did the root vegetables on one foil-lined baking pan, and the more delicate veggies on another pan. I found mine burned after about 15 minutes at 475, so I lowered the temp. to 450 and just cooked longer. With the addition of the time in the oven at 475, the root vegetables took about 45-50 minutes, and the other veggies took about 25-30, stirring both. This recipe tasted SO good, though, and I have gotten requests to make it for holidays and other family gatherings. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1098 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monument, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
Really good, healthy dish. The only problem I had was the potato's took a long time to cook, while everything else was done. By the time the potato's were soft enough, the other veggi's were a little too soft. Next time I'll cut the potato's smaller than everything else and that will probably solve the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
330 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
Yum! You can use almost any kind of vege in this dish except delicate veges that will fall apart easily. I tossed all the veges, vinegar and spices in a bag before roasting. Tend to dry out so I cover the pan for the first half of cooking and then leave it exposed for the 2nd half to get the nice brown color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
318 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
FANTASTIC! What a wonderful way to bring out the vibrant colors, and flavor of vegetables; such a versatile recipe. I forwent the sweet potatoes and squash, and don't care for rosemary so omitted those. Used red potatoes w/skins instead of yukons, and added some fresh broccoli. The broccoli was to die for roasted! I kept all measurements the same except had to add a bit more EVOO. I added some garlic powder(was afraid to add garlic cloves for fear of burning and becoming bitter) and added 1 tsp. basil, 1 tsp. dried crushed thyme. (didn't have fresh) Fresh cracked pepper and salt at the end. This is just perfect. Did it in big roaster pan and just loosely covered w/foil and turned every 10 minutes as stated for the 35 and they still browned while I think that bit of foil just loosely laid overtop helped them 'steam' a bit and no veggie was too crunchy or mushy. Served w/oven-broiled lamb and baguettes and it was a complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
300 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
We loved this. Substituted carrots for the squash and reduced the oil just a bit. Started the potatoes about 10 minutes before the other vegetables, then cooked the 35 minutes. Just a hint: mix the oil, vinegar, herbs and spices _before_ you start chopping and the flavors blend a little and the rosemary softens. We will definitely make this often. Thanks, Saundra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
271 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2002
This is definitely a great veggie side dish! I made it for a dinner party and it was a hit! You can't go wrong if you follow all the instructions exactly. Using a shallow roasting pan is a must, along with frequent stirring. I'd also like to add that spraying the roasting pan with a non-stick spray prevents all the sticking that happens in the later stages of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
230 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFPEON

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Redmond, Washington, USA
Living In: Port Townsend, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Absolutely fabulous dish! The colors are so vibrant and the flavors are wonderful - it's such a great way to enjoy veggies! I cut back a bit on the oil and lined my foil roasting pan with a bit of Pam so nothing would stick. If you don't have fresh herbs on hand go ahead and use dried. I did have to cook this a bit longer than the cooking time indicated, you know it's done when the veggies can be pierced with a fork. Very healthy, and very good - a perfect side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
202 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2005
Yum, yum, yum! I enjoyed this dish and plan on making it again. Based upon previous reviews the only changes I made were to use carrots instead of squash and to throw in some fresh garlic cloves. In the future I will probably cut the fresh rosemary in half. This is a great healthy side dish and goes a VERY long way. I highly recommend this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
193 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

How to Roast Winter Vegetables

Learn how to roast seasoned root vegetables to bring out their earthy flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States