Roasted Vegetable and Kale Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I had to do some adapting based on what I had, but this is a great base recipe. With more veggies, I don't think you need the sausage. It would make a great vegetarian soup. My adaptations, if you care, were: I used canned diced tomatoes as the base for the puree. I roasted garlic, red and yellow peppers, sweet potatoes, broccoli, and carrots. I had no onion to roast, so I used onion flakes when cooking the sausage. I added some of the roasted vegetables along with the garlic to the tomatoes to puree. I only had sweet Italian sausage, so I added about 1/4 teaspoon of red pepper flakes, and about 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne pepper to give it some spice (not needed, but I like spicy). Then I did the whole thing in the crock pot. about an hour on low to soften the kale, and then about 2 hours on high once you add the veggies. Add water, salt & pepper as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I tried this recipe and loved it. I got kale in my veggie co-op and didn't know what it was. I also got butternut squash, and potatoes, so this recipe was perfect. I only had Jimmy Dean breakfast sausage, so I used it. It tastes great in there! I didn't have the right seasonings so I liberally applied Italian seasoning and crushed red pepper. I also used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth, because it was all I had available. The mix of the beans, squash, meat, potato, broth and chickpeas is really good. And the kale... I like it! I never knew it until now. I will be adding this recipe to my list of things to make on a regular basis!! (Even if I don't get kale in my co-op box again!) NOTE: The picture does not do justice to this recipe! Mine is BEAUTIFUL with all the bright colors in it. I'll try to take a picture!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Good recipe. An earthier, more hearty take on minestrone. Next time I may go with a different type of sausage just to tweak it, but I will definitely keep in the recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Oh, this was so good. My whole family loved it. I followed the recipe exactly except I used homemade chicken broth instead of vegetable as I didn't have any, but other than that I stayed true to it as written. I have to say this makes a lot of soup though - I'd say 8-10 servings rather than six as it is very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Of course I changed the recipe a bit. Less evoo, no beans or chick peas (forgot to buy them) but it was AAmaZing!!! Try it!!! Super healthy. My editions are: peal the skin off the butternut squash before cooking and do not include the stems in the kale. Trim the leaves off first. Great recipe. Easy. I feed 30 people at my house once a month and this is my favorite recipe so far!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by autumnchick84

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I really loved this recipe. I omitted the sausage and made a fabulous vegetable soup. I added turnips and used cannelini beans instead of kidney. Delicious! I would definitely chunk and roast my root veggies beforehand for a softer texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Wow, this soup is delicious. The roasted veggies and pan drippings add so much flavor. I included the kidney bean liquid in the soup. I substituted a can of white beans in tomato sauce (including the sauce) for the garbanzo beans which I did not have on hand. My whole family really liked this soup. Definitely a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
I made this without the meat and it was still really good. The broth with the baked bits and puree makes the soup. I'm sure it's even better with the sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I'm probably quite biased toward the chef, but this recipe is absolutely phenomenal!! Perfect flavor, and very healthy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Yes, yes. Made exactly as published - but wanted to kick this recipe up a notch by roasting a seeded jalapeño and minced it. Served the soup with home-made croutons. Made a complete meal. Will definitely make again - will try Italian turkey sausage next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JohnRascal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynn Haven, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States