Roasted Vegetable and Kale Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I tried this recipe and loved it. I got kale in my veggie co-op and didn't know what it was. I also got butternut squash, and potatoes, so this recipe was perfect. I only had Jimmy Dean breakfast sausage, so I used it. It tastes great in there! I didn't have the right seasonings so I liberally applied Italian seasoning and crushed red pepper. I also used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth, because it was all I had available. The mix of the beans, squash, meat, potato, broth and chickpeas is really good. And the kale... I like it! I never knew it until now. I will be adding this recipe to my list of things to make on a regular basis!! (Even if I don't get kale in my co-op box again!) NOTE: The picture does not do justice to this recipe! Mine is BEAUTIFUL with all the bright colors in it. I'll try to take a picture!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
I made this without the meat and it was still really good. The broth with the baked bits and puree makes the soup. I'm sure it's even better with the sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I cant believe how amazing this soup tastes. I used Vegan Sausuages in place of the original listing & it is perfect. Tasty, filling, healthy & not fattening. This is worth the prep, time & energy. AMAZING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I had to do some adapting based on what I had, but this is a great base recipe. With more veggies, I don't think you need the sausage. It would make a great vegetarian soup. My adaptations, if you care, were: I used canned diced tomatoes as the base for the puree. I roasted garlic, red and yellow peppers, sweet potatoes, broccoli, and carrots. I had no onion to roast, so I used onion flakes when cooking the sausage. I added some of the roasted vegetables along with the garlic to the tomatoes to puree. I only had sweet Italian sausage, so I added about 1/4 teaspoon of red pepper flakes, and about 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne pepper to give it some spice (not needed, but I like spicy). Then I did the whole thing in the crock pot. about an hour on low to soften the kale, and then about 2 hours on high once you add the veggies. Add water, salt & pepper as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Absolutely fantastic. The only way I can eat kale. I will admit I did use my inversion blender just because it is my preference. Also, I left out the sausage and used tomato paste in place of tomatoes. No offense, I seldom follow a recipe exactly, nor do I do much measuring. Try adding some sour cream. Awesome. Thanks Betsy, it's a real keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
A little longer than I expected to prep and cook and I wasn't sure about the potatoes but totally worth the wait!!!! So delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Royersford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I'm probably quite biased toward the chef, but this recipe is absolutely phenomenal!! Perfect flavor, and very healthy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
This takes great and is perfect for cold winter days. My new go to recipe for soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States