Roasted Vegetable and Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I LOVE the gravy this makes--homemade beefstock, red wine and tomato paste--yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Great recipe, I used fresh herbs as suggested, also used eggplant and zucchini as well as potatos and bellpepper as that was my family's preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
My family thought this was great! I didn't have 2 pounds of beef, but I cut the cubes into smaller pieces, and I think it was fine... Next time I will buy a bigger pack of meat.. I also did not use the wine/bay leaf/tomato paste.. But followed the roasting instructions, etc.. I was sooo good! My in laws were over for dinner and they raved over it.. I served it with french bread (and butter) and 'Sarah's Applesauce' (also from this site - it was DELISH) - I barely had enough of anything for my lunch today! I will definitely make this again - (and check out Sarah's applesauce too, it was great!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmmsweets

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Georgetown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
This recipe was quite the hit this evening! The roasted veggies added a depth of flavor that made the dish special. The roasting time was a bit too long for the veggies.... they should only roast for 30 minutes max because they get mushy if they simmer too long. I added Italian seasoning to both the veggies and the beef and added salt and pepper throughout the cooking process. I also doubled the sauce recipe. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
This recipe was fantastic! My husband and my two year old loved it. I followed other members advice and doubled the sauce. Very flavourful and perfect to warm you up in the fall and winter. Will make this again over Xmas to feed the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmundston, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
This was really good, but instead of the wine I used marsala sherry and instead of russet potatoes I used danish baby potatoes...it was very good but next time I will cut down the amount of tomato paste and maybe add some peas. I will always use the sherry instead because I think it adds a nice sweeter flavor than the red wine which is good to act with the flavor of the tomato
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cicero, Illinois, USA
Living In: Herlev, Hovedstaden, Denmark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
Awesome! Roasting the meat and veggies is the ticket! Both were tender and very flavorable. I doubled the recipe and used two sweet potatoes with two white ones and it works well. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
Nice tasting stew. It was very time consuming however. I think this could easily be made on top of the stove instead of doing the oven thing. We like our meat to be more tender. Still the flavor was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
Very good! I realized after planning to make this that I don't have a good roasting pan to use, so I decided to make it in the crockpot instead. I only had 1.3 pounds of meat, but that seemed fine. I left out the olive oil, mushrooms and the bay leaf, but I added 1 tsp of thyme, 1/2 tsp oregano, and 1/2 tsp dried parsley. I used 4 cups of beef broth since I knew a lot of it would cook off in the slowcooker over time. I set it on high for the first 6 hours, and turned it down to low for about 30 minutes. At the 4 hour mark, I added just over 1/2 cup of the wine, and when I set it on low, I added 4 tbsp. of flour to thicken it. I'm sure this is very good roasted, but as I did it, it was good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
My husband & I thought this was awesome and said so throughout the dinner...too good! Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina B. Cookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: York, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States