Roasted-Vegetable Stock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Glad I found this recipe. I am allergic to beef, chicken and carrots. I needed to find my own stock to make! Thank you - it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I LOVED this recipe and won't change a thing when I make it again.This tasty stock will also be great as a base for gravies now that Thanksgiving and Christmas are coming up. I have learned that since we don't get as much fat drippings from turkey that we use to it is hard to make a flavorful gravy.I have used water that I boiled veggies and a little wine to help improve the flvor of the gravy and people always rave about it and request that I make the gravy.This will be the recipe I use this Thanksgiving for sure. The great part is that you can make it days ahead of time and it is one less thing to be doing while people are waiting to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I am sorry. I really wanted to like this recipe. I LOVE soup but this was not good at all. I followed the recipe exactly according to the recipe but I just did not like it at all. My husband didn't like it either. Perhaps it is just us since all the other reviews were loving it. I have a feeling that maybe the thyme was a little strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I changed up a few of the vegetables based on my likes. I used an unpeeled/chunked large sweet sweet potato, a large unpeeled/quartered onion, 3 unpeeled/chunked carrots, 3 stalks of celery, 1 bulb of garlic cut in half and 3 large quartered tomatoes. I tossed them all in Olive Oil on a lined baking sheet, sprinkled them with Kosher salt, pepper and thyme. Roasted them as directed, simmered in water then strained. I poured mine after cooling into freezer bags in 2 cup quantities.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRISSYF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Galion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
This was delicious! I was sick and drank it by itself. I used the leftovers to make Mexican rice instead of chicken stock. It was great! I will definitely make again to freeze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Very tasty! I added more tomatoes and some cabbage to make a soup... it turned out quite well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
This is fantastic! I never added the pepper. I used carrots, celery, onions, ginger, beets, garlic, and fennel (anise) The bulb and the tops. I also squeezed a lime in it! So good !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
years after my first trial making homemade stock which was of course a disaster, I gathered the courage to try again and with the wisdom gained from all the reviews here this was a huge success. Great by itself, makes my rice dishes even flavorful and serves as a good base for my vegetarian soups. Just added some extra salt, a whole potato and whole lot of indian spices and doubled the recipe. TY for the recipe and the reviews
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Try roasting some sweet potato with the other veggies. I also just puree all the veggies and add to whatever soup i'm making. make packages and freeze separately to keep on hand - so much better than anything I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Stock

Watch Chef John prepare a long-simmering chicken stock.

How to Make Chicken Stock

See how to make flavorful chicken stock in five simple steps.

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States