Roasted-Vegetable Stock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Easy peasy and perfect results. Roasting gives so much flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Decent and yummy, but not 8 cups. Doesn't account for the cup that evaporates. Still, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Bandziukas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I only had a red pepper on hand so used that, and didn't have a tomato. The flavor of the stock was fine, but so much evaporated during the simmering time I had less than 4 cups when I was done - and I only let it simmer for an hour. Is it normal to lose that much during the cooking process? I was hoping for a bigger batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Eagan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ed Denmat
Reviewed: May 26, 2011
I suddenly needed vegetable stock for the Boston Baked Beans I'm making this weekend. No way was I buying a can of stock when I have this recipe at my fingertips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed Denmat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Athenarose
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I use this recipe anytime I want to make a vegetable stock. It makes the house smell so good all day, after I roast the veggies I put in the slow cooker and cover with water, plus put in the spices in. I leave it on low for about 8 hrs or so. Than I let it cool in the fridge overnight, the next day I put it in ice cube trays and after they freeze than a zip lock bag. I use this stock in place of water when cooking veggies and it rly addes alot of flavor. I also used it when I made baby food and my baby must of thought the same thing cause he loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athenarose

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Kodiak, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Simply the best vegetable stock I have ever made! I keep freezer bags of vegetable scraps in the freezer so I pulled out one of those - carrot peels, sweet potato peels, pieces of onions and peppers, garlic cloves that had dried out, stems from spinach, pieces of fennel and herbs that had passed their prime. I added celery, carrots and quartered onions and some rosemary, bay leaves and peppercorns. After placing them in the pot I added a little water to the roasting pan to help scrape up some of the bits left in the pan. The broth is so rich and dark, it looks almost like beef broth. All I need to do is add some salt and figure out what I want to use this in first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I used this stock to make Risotto and it was really yummy! (guilty of leaving out the pepper and adding 2 shallots since I had them handy)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Absolutely stunning! Can't see me buying stock again. Mixed the veggies with cooked chicken and marina sauce and served over pasta. Yum YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
thank you,never thought of this befor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Roasting the vegetables is so the way to go for vegetable stock. This is a really great recipe & would recommend to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burgoon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stock

Watch Chef John prepare a long-simmering chicken stock.

How to Make Chicken Stock

See how to make flavorful chicken stock in five simple steps.

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States