Roasted Vegetable Orzo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Delicious! I did add a red bell pepper to the vegetables, definitely a good addition. I didn't have any chicken bouillon, so I just used water and a little wine. Hubby picked all the veggies out, but he said the orzo was good. It went very well with salmon, and even though hubby is hopeless when it comes to vegetables, I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Awesome, that's all I have to say!! You can throw in just about any veggie and it tastes great. I use Feta cheese instead of the Parmesan though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: West Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I made this for a work potlock for Thanksgiving and was asked to make it again to bring to the Christmas party! I also added a little bit of Mozzarella cheese in addition to the Parmesan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Fort Gordon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Really good. I did modify the cooking method though. I sauted 2 cups of dry orzo in a little butter then added 2 1/2 cups water and 1/2 cup white wine. I totally forgot to add the chicken bouillon. I brought it to a boil then reduced it to a simmer and cooked for about 8 - 10 minutes until the orzo was done. This way, all the liquid was absorbed and I didn't need to drain it. I was hoping to get more of the wine flavor this way. Then I stirred in more like 1/2 cup of parmesan and then added the roasted veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAHMCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
It sounded a little bland so I added some garden herbs to it and used hazelnut oil instead of olive, gave it a lovely flavor. I didn't specifically have the same veggies either so I just used what I had on hand and it was great. Very simple to do, very easy clean up, I recommend it as a healthy meal alternative with easy clean up. ***Update***Made it with beets, carrots, broccoli and added a white onion. truly versatile recipe! I was out of olive oil but had Hazelnut oil and used that. It was WONDERFUL!! I'm changing from 4 stars to 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
I really enjoyed this recipe -- thank you! Super easy to make and very yummy. I didn't need to change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Very good, although I did forget the sugar (oops) and added about a teaspoon or two of fresh thyme from the garden. An excellent way to use fresh garden veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Center Barnstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Loved this recipe. It was excellent. Will try other vegetables in it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
This is a great base recipe. I roasted pieces of eggplant, zucchini, asparagus and white mushrooms as well as one chicken breast cut into bite size pieces. I tossed everything into some whole wheat penne pasta and added a handful of fresh basil leaves, crumbled feta cheese and squeezed lemon. This recipe is definitely very versatile and healthy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimquat4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Budapest, Pest, Hungary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
I read the reviews on this one and thought about spicing it up. But I went with the stock recipe. All my friends loved it. I thought it could use a little spice. I gave it 5 stars because everyone loved it and with this type of recipe there’s a lot of room to tailor it to an individuals taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maccordeiro

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Lorenzo, California, USA
Living In: Hayward, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butter Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Roasted Asparagus with Prosciutto & Poached Egg

See how to make a classic spring asparagus dish.

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States