Roasted Vegetable Orzo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
This is a good dish - however, not as flavorful as I expected with the seasonings to the pasta water. Next time I will try some of the suggestions, which include using red peppers, basil and additional salt/pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I used rice instead and cut the amount of bouillon in half and used white grape juice instead of white wine. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
The roasted vegetables are amazing. I omitted the sugar, and added a little crushed red pepper. I like a little spice to my food. Instead of pairing with orzo, I mixed the veggies with penne pasta. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Very good, although I did forget the sugar (oops) and added about a teaspoon or two of fresh thyme from the garden. An excellent way to use fresh garden veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Center Barnstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
I read the reviews on this one and thought about spicing it up. But I went with the stock recipe. All my friends loved it. I thought it could use a little spice. I gave it 5 stars because everyone loved it and with this type of recipe there’s a lot of room to tailor it to an individuals taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maccordeiro

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Lorenzo, California, USA
Living In: Hayward, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Awesome, that's all I have to say!! You can throw in just about any veggie and it tastes great. I use Feta cheese instead of the Parmesan though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: West Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
I really enjoyed this recipe -- thank you! Super easy to make and very yummy. I didn't need to change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
This is a great base recipe. I roasted pieces of eggplant, zucchini, asparagus and white mushrooms as well as one chicken breast cut into bite size pieces. I tossed everything into some whole wheat penne pasta and added a handful of fresh basil leaves, crumbled feta cheese and squeezed lemon. This recipe is definitely very versatile and healthy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimquat4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Budapest, Pest, Hungary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Really good. I did modify the cooking method though. I sauted 2 cups of dry orzo in a little butter then added 2 1/2 cups water and 1/2 cup white wine. I totally forgot to add the chicken bouillon. I brought it to a boil then reduced it to a simmer and cooked for about 8 - 10 minutes until the orzo was done. This way, all the liquid was absorbed and I didn't need to drain it. I was hoping to get more of the wine flavor this way. Then I stirred in more like 1/2 cup of parmesan and then added the roasted veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAHMCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
It sounded a little bland so I added some garden herbs to it and used hazelnut oil instead of olive, gave it a lovely flavor. I didn't specifically have the same veggies either so I just used what I had on hand and it was great. Very simple to do, very easy clean up, I recommend it as a healthy meal alternative with easy clean up. ***Update***Made it with beets, carrots, broccoli and added a white onion. truly versatile recipe! I was out of olive oil but had Hazelnut oil and used that. It was WONDERFUL!! I'm changing from 4 stars to 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Asparagus with Prosciutto & Poached Egg

See how to make a classic spring asparagus dish.

Maple Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Bacon

Sweet and smoky roasted Brussels sprouts.

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States