Roasted Vegetable Orzo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I tried another users suggestion of cooking the orzo with with just enough water and wine so the pasta would absorb the liquid, but it turned gummy. The flavor was still amazing so I will definitely make again, but this time I will boil the pasta as the recipe indicates so it is cooked perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
This recipe is delicious, with some modifications. If you really want 4 servings, don't cook a pound of orzo, maybe half that amount, and even then it will be a lot. Our protobellos were huge, so we chunked them. I roasted the veggies longer, more like 45 minutes, partly because my oven is on the slow side, and also because we like the caramelization that happens with longer cooking. Used veggie bouillon cubes so we could all eat this and added much more parmesan, maybe 1/2 to 3/4 cup, as it goes so well with the rest of the ingredients. Everybody loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
I thought this was good - my husband thought it was okay. One box of orzo makes a LOT of pasta. It was a very easy dish to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Really, REALLY wonderful! I added a red pepper that I needed to use up too. Just incredible. This feeds waaaaay more than 4 tho. Maybe 6-8 as a main dish or 10-12 as a side dish. Makes a ton, which is fine by us....leftovers:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
very good. I left out the sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Very good, colorful and versatile recipe. I loved the wine. Added some fresh basil, tomatoes, fresh mozzerella and cilantro because I had it. Could use a bit more kick. Will keep playing with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINGKRIS1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Where has this recipe been all my life?! This has to be one of the most delicious recipes I have ever made. It is so simple, yet the flavors are so complex. I did two things differently (which I don't think changed the outcome), I skipped the wine, because I didn't have any and I roasted the cloves of garlic whole so they didn't burn. When they were done, I chopped them up and added them to the veggies. I didn't measure the parmesan, but just sprinkled it on. I can't wait to have the leftovers today. This will defintely be made quite frequently in my house, especially in the summer with all the fresh veggies from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Photo by deet31483
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Tasty but definitely needed some kick. I added parsley and basil to the veggies and grilled some chicken with a little lemon juice and basil. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deet31483

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
This is so fantastic. I can't wait to make it again! This is what I did: I cooked my veggies longer to allow them to caramelize, and omitted the sugar (totally not necessary!). I also added salt, pepper, and garlic powder to them. I held off on roasting the minced garlic because it will burn. I only used 1 extra large bouillon cube for the pasta and didn't salt the water before hand. Bouillon is super salty as it is. I omitted the wine because we didn't have any. I'm sure it would have been a nice addition. I added chicken to my meal which I had marinated a few hours in Italian dressing. I cut it up and sauteed it until the juices ran clear. Just before it was done cooking I added the minced garlic, and a touch of starchy pasta water to cook the garlic and deglaze the pan. I added all of that to the veggies and orzo. The flavors of this were awesome, and the bouillon addition to the pasta water was a nice change! I'll try that again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by becky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
This dish was easy to make and was a great healthy side dish. I roasted red bell pepper and eggplant and de-glaced the roasting pan with a little more of the wine. I also toasted the orzo in just a little butter to get a nice brown color on it. It was delicious and a big crowd pleaser. Will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butter Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Roasted Asparagus with Prosciutto & Poached Egg

See how to make a classic spring asparagus dish.

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States