Roasted Vegetable Orzo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
OMG!!! This was soooooo awesome! My hubs didn't care for the squash in this, but he happily picked around it. :) Although tasty as written, I immediately knew that this was in need of a few adjustments. An entire box of orzo would feed an army (my gosh...). Secondly, the amount of water for cooking the pasta is not specified. It would certainly have been helpful to advise how much water to use since there are measured ingredients flavoring it. To remedy these issues, I read both the recipe submitter and SAHMCOOK's reviews and adhered to their advice. As SAHMCOOK did, I too added 2 1/2 c. water / 1/2 c. wine (chardonnay) to my orzo, brought everything to a boil and then simmered on low for 10 minutes. I DID add all four bouillon cubes, however. This worked perfectly - I didn't have to drain anything and was able to lock in all of that GREAT flavor! I also followed recipe submitter Michelle's advice and added more cheese (1/2 cup's worth) and reduced the amount of orzo to 2 c. My final (personal) change was to omit the portobello mushrooms altogether (we hate 'em). With these changes, this was SUPER delicious and the perfect complement to serve alongside our grilled chipotle crusted pork tenderloin (KRAMNODROG)! Thanks SO much for sharing this great recipe with the AR community, Michelle! My hubs and I LOVED it. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I wish I could give this more than 5 stars! Everyone loved this dish. Not everyone in our family loves all the veggies in this dish but I did not have one complaint. The only issue i had was the proportion of rice to veggies but admitaly my squash and zucchini seemed a little small. Just for good measure I think I will double the veggies next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Great recipe. I grilled the veggies instead of roasting and used Better Than Boullion instead of cubes to cut down on the salt, but other than the cooking method for the veggies, I made the recipe as is. Very tasty! Easy to change the veggies to your own liking. Thanks for sharing, Michelle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tbearmom03

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Lovely blend of vegetables and flavored orzo. The garlic really gives it a nice flavor. Lots of prep time but worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
This was outstanding! Took other suggestions and cut orzo to 1 cup (about right for 2-3 people). Took submitters suggestion and used 1 T balsamic vinegar in place of sugar. Also, added 1/2 cup of grated Reggiano-Paremsan cheese. Veggies I used were, zuccini, red bell pepper, onion, asparagus, brussel sprouts. No mushrooms (wife does not like). I used 2 tsp. of "Better Than Bouillon" and 1/4 cup white wine in 2/1/2 cups of water for orzo. Will definetly be making this on a regular basis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Delicious! Will def make again! A few mods: different veggies, only about a TSP of chicken bouillon in the cooking water for orzo, no wine, used a touch of balsamic vinegar (as the author later suggested) plus a few dashes of lemon basalmic, extra salt & pepper, just 1 garlic, and unbelievably...NO cheese!! I cannot believe it, as a cheese-LOVER, that this does not need cheese! The flavors of the roasted veggies really make this so wonderful, there's just no need. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitkat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
This was really tasty. Unfortunately, I followed other members advice of adding two bouillons and it ended up being a bit too salty, so I had to add water to dilute it. I did use vegetable bouillons though, so I don't know if that's the reason why. But the taste was incredible, this is a really good side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
This dish is awesome!!! it is delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANET

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
SO GOOD!!!!!! I subbed quinoa cooked in veggie broth for orzo and added some bell peppers to the veg mix that I had on hand. Didn't have any wine and sauteed the garlic separately to avoid burning. I was generous with the parmesean and couldn't stop eating it! Totally worth all the chopping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I left out the mushrooms and used an acorn squash but all of my guests loved it. My cousin who is a manager at a restaurant that serves pretty good food commented on how good it was. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Asparagus with Prosciutto & Poached Egg

See how to make a classic spring asparagus dish.

Maple Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Bacon

Sweet and smoky roasted Brussels sprouts.

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States