Roasted Vegetable Orzo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Lovely blend of vegetables and flavored orzo. The garlic really gives it a nice flavor. Lots of prep time but worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
This was outstanding! Took other suggestions and cut orzo to 1 cup (about right for 2-3 people). Took submitters suggestion and used 1 T balsamic vinegar in place of sugar. Also, added 1/2 cup of grated Reggiano-Paremsan cheese. Veggies I used were, zuccini, red bell pepper, onion, asparagus, brussel sprouts. No mushrooms (wife does not like). I used 2 tsp. of "Better Than Bouillon" and 1/4 cup white wine in 2/1/2 cups of water for orzo. Will definetly be making this on a regular basis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Delicious! Will def make again! A few mods: different veggies, only about a TSP of chicken bouillon in the cooking water for orzo, no wine, used a touch of balsamic vinegar (as the author later suggested) plus a few dashes of lemon basalmic, extra salt & pepper, just 1 garlic, and unbelievably...NO cheese!! I cannot believe it, as a cheese-LOVER, that this does not need cheese! The flavors of the roasted veggies really make this so wonderful, there's just no need. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitkat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
This was really tasty. Unfortunately, I followed other members advice of adding two bouillons and it ended up being a bit too salty, so I had to add water to dilute it. I did use vegetable bouillons though, so I don't know if that's the reason why. But the taste was incredible, this is a really good side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
This dish is awesome!!! it is delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANET

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
SO GOOD!!!!!! I subbed quinoa cooked in veggie broth for orzo and added some bell peppers to the veg mix that I had on hand. Didn't have any wine and sauteed the garlic separately to avoid burning. I was generous with the parmesean and couldn't stop eating it! Totally worth all the chopping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I left out the mushrooms and used an acorn squash but all of my guests loved it. My cousin who is a manager at a restaurant that serves pretty good food commented on how good it was. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
My boyfriend made this for me and it was absolutely delicious. The orzo was incredibly flavorful thanks to the broth, and the roasted veggies were perfectly cooked. // Made this a second time, using balsamic vinegar in place of the wine because it was what I had on hand. Still delicious! I love to save the broth and spoon some into my bowl so it's more of an orzo soup. Sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Life Tastes Good
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Really loved this recipe. Thank you for sharing! I made it without the asparagus simply because it wasn't on sale, but the dish was still so good. I also didn't want to throw wine down the drain, so I adjusted the cooking method for the orzo. I lightly toasted 1 cup of orzo in 2 tablespoons of butter and then added 1 1/4 cups water with a 1 teaspoon of chicken base and a 1/2 cup Sake. I brought that to a boil. Covered. Reduced the heat and let simmer for 15-20 mins until the liquid was absorbed. Then i added in the veges and the Parmesan. It was delish! I will be making it again and again and can't wait for asparagus to go on sale!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butter Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Roasted Asparagus with Prosciutto & Poached Egg

See how to make a classic spring asparagus dish.

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States