Roasted Vegetable Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Loved the simplicity of this recipe. Used the ingredients and altered some minor things. Instead of salt and pepper I brushed the chicken with olive oil and sprinkled Old Bay seasoning (family favorite) over top. I cut up vegetables and potatoes and mixed in olive oil and sprinkled vegetable seasoning before adding to roaster. 30 minutes before time was up I uncovered and increased temperature to 400 for the rest of the time. And as others have posted I added 1 cup of chicken stock instead of just water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
I made this the first time following the recipe with the exception of using broth, no celery and one onion. My family liked it so I tried it at home tonight except I only had an 8 piece cut up chicken. I opted to use the basic recipe with the broth and one onion. I put all the vegetables in the glass pan I had then put the chicken pieces on top of the vegetables. I put some EVOO on the chicken pieces then put our favorite seasoning on the pieces. I covered the pan with foil and cooked at 325 degrees. At 1 3/4 hours I turned the oven up to 400 degrees and removed the foil. I cooked it for an additional 30 minutes and this dish was amazing! The fact that I can make this with pieces as well as the whole chicken is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Great recipe, with a couple additions. I added fresh fennel, carrots, Celery, potatoes and onion. Baked at 325 covered for 2 hours, basting every 30 minutes, then 45 minutes uncovered at 400 for a little crispiness. Deglazed the pan with Red Wine, added a bit of chicken stock, and the juices. I could eat this 4 times a week. Dave Greenlee London Ontario, Canada
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
So healthy and tasty! I will be making this many more times and I used the chicken stock.. Perfect dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
This was a great basic roasted chicken recipe. I changed it a bit to add more flavor. I used chicken broth instead of water and I put onions inside the chicken cavity. I also added a couple tablespoons of butter to the broth and another 1/2 tablespoon inside the chicken. Try rubbing chicken with some olive oil and minced garlic and sprinkling with rosemary for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mizzbett
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Delicious and so easy! I used a sweet potato I had lying around along with the veggies stated, and used just 1 large onion cut into large sections. I used the sticky rotisserie rub from the site as suggested in place of salt and pepper (didnt have onion powder so I just left that out), 1 cup chicken broth instead of the water, and rubbed the chicken with olive oil before applying the rub. Oh and I also tossed the veggies in veg oil and seasoning salt prior to putting them in the roasting pan. I cut up the potatoes into small pieces. Cooked for 1 1/2 hours at 325 then uncovered and cooked another 30 minutes at 375. My 4 lb bird was done to perfection and the veggies were perfectly seasoned and done through. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mizzbett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rosedale, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hurlock, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Divine! Also used the Rotisserie Style Sticky Chicken recipe from this site--used only potatoes and onions (what I had on hand) and sprinkled some of the rub on the veggies before they went in the oven. Also followed others suggestions of bumping the temp for an additional 30 minutes at the end of roasting. I used the juices and made a gravy for everything--kids loved it and the entire bird was just a carcass when we were done! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Turned out great...very easy. I also used chicken broth instead of water as other readers. And adjusted the amout of vegetables to our preference, then cooked uncovered at 400 degress for the last 20 minutes. Turned out perfect!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I can't believe I've never roasted a chicken with the vegetables this way before! So easy and tasty. I love that it's a 'one dish meal' without being a casserole. I rubbed the chicken with an all-purposed poultry seasoning blend and stuffed the cavity with a bunch of rosemary and a quartered lemon. I used less onions and more carrots, per my family's preferences and used chicken broth instead of water. I only basted once. I also turned the oven up to 400 deg. and took the foil off for the last 20 minutes. The chicken browned up nicely and the veggies weren't too mushy - just right. I served with a salad and biscuits. My husband prefers beer can chicken, but liked the veggies in this one. 2 out of my 3 kids ate it as well so I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I make this all the time using different vegetable/seasoning combinations - parsnips, sweet potatoes, etc. I add the vegetables in the last hour to keep them firm and fresher tasting. I use homemade chicken stock in place of the water and throw in a few cloves of garlic as well. I prefer to roast uncovered at the end. Makes excellent gravy if desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crunchy Carrot

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States