Roasted Vegetable Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
This came out fantastic! I did make some changes, though. As suggested by another reviewer, I rubbed the chicken with the "Roast Sticky Chicken-Rotisserie Style" spices, minus the thyme, since my husband won't eat that, and added more garlic. I also added mini red potatoes, sweet potatoes, parsnip, baby carrots, and more onion, all chopped into large slices. I added water and chicken soup mix (I did not have chicken broth) and put it in an aluminum pan covered with silver foil on 325 for 2 hours, and then on 375 for about 20 minutes to make it crispy. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avigayil

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring Valley, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
I oiled the chicken first and added thyme and rosemary, also used chicken stock instead of water and made gravy from leftover juices -- very flavorful, very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
Wow, this was SO good! My family loved this, and I was told it was the best meal I'd ever made. I did make three minor changes from the basic recipe. I used chicken stock instead of water (which I highly recommend), and I covered the chicken with the spice mixture from "Roast Sticky Chicken-Rotisserie Style" instead of just using salt and pepper. I also added mushrooms, because my family loves mushrooms. This is a wonderful recipe that I will absolutely be making over and over again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
Made this 11/6 - Used potatoes, carrots, asparagus, chicken legs. Cooked @ 375 for about 40 minutes coverd. Then backed another 20 minutes @ 450 uncovered to crisp the chicken. Came out really good! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plympton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Uxbridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
I am giving this 5 stars because of it's simple goodness. This isn't a "fancy" meal, but it is oh so good. It was great to watch my family go back for seconds. Hubby requested that we have it every week! I would suggest seasoning vegetables well and using chicken broth in place of water. I also pricked the whole potatoes with a knife to allow flavors to flow through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
This was a big hit with my husband and my 2 year old! I started by rubbing the inside & out of the skin with butter and then with a basting brush I painted on a nice coat of extra virgin olive oil. I used diced red potatoes, half a bag of peeled baby carrots, half of a yellow onion (fine diced), and about a cup of chopped celery. I added only about a cup of water, since I wanted more of the chicken juices to cook into the vegetables. Cooked my 4lb bird on 350 for 2 hours covered, basting about every 30 minutes, then cooked uncovered at 400 for another hour. DELICIOUS. ROSEMARY is a must with this recipe, the taste is absolutely devine. I also used garlic salt, onion salt, thyme, basil, and fresh ground pepper...mmmm! We will definitely be making this a regular meal in our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2002
I used chicken broth instead of the water, and it still lacks something. Otherwise, it makes such an easy, healthy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2002
Im just learning to cook and this recipe was very simple and easy to follow. Even better - I had all the ingredients on hand. It is just like mom use to make. I did omit the onions, only because I do not like them. I did stuff onion slices inside - and that turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHYTEETEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilkeson, Washington, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2001
This recipe is easy and it tastes Great! Just the way I like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
This is the easiest delicious meal you can make. I also add french cut string beans and additionally season with McCormick Rotisserie Chicken Seasoning, garlic pwdr, onion pwdr, basil and oregano. If you make the Baking Powder Biscuits recipe from this site to go with the chicken (also an extremely easy and quick recipe!) you will be in comfort food heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States