Roasted Turkey Legs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Sorry, I know this is kinda like cheating. But the baking method of this recipe is AWESOME! I used the seasoning from the Sticky Rotissierie Chicken and baked according to this recipe's instructions. I had one turkey leg and baked it for about 1 hr 40 min, basting with olive oil for about 6 times. The turkey was SOOOO moist. Plus, the skin was very crispy too. INSANELY DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Veda'sCookingDinner
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Very EASY, Simple recipe. You can't go wrong. I have tried this recipe twice and both times, I must say, they came out DEE-LISH-US! The first time I did not have any celery so I used slivered onions instead (very tasty). But last Sunday when I did have some celery I tried it again and OMG! The flavor those stalks put out was superb! I thought that the celery would be mushy and it was not. If was soft yet still had a firm feel when eaten. I seasoned my turkey with salt, pepper, garlic powder and a little parsley (for color). My meat was tender, juicy and fell right off the bone! We had with greens (with turkey necks), mac-n-cheese and cornbread (I uploaded a pic. I had to stop eating in order to actually take the picture. LOL). I will DEFINITELY cook my turkey legs this way from now on. I've shared with friends and they too enjoyed the recipe. Reminds me of the food my grandmother would cook everyday. Thanks for sharing Keryne!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veda'sCookingDinner

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Simple and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hnyb_dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cibolo, Texas, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Photo by Cookin' In TX
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I made this recipe. I used frozen diced onion instead of celery to stuff the the turkey legs, and margarine instead of butter. I used an all-purpose seasoning instead of plain salt. I basted the legs in their own juices several times. It was very easy to make and the legs were quite tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Turned out yummy with olive oil instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Delicious! I used sweet onions (like Vidalias) since I don't care for celery. The flavor permeated the meat well and gave it added tenderness. I'll be doing this one again. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa P.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I made one turkey leg a few night ago - instead of celery though i put some dried herbs behind the skin, pepper, salt, and same on the skin with some olive oil. i roasted it in cast iron pan. the meat came out tender, with nice crunchy skin. My daughter who is picky about what meat she eats ate it all up (next time i will make 2 legs - it was so good that my husband and 2 kids did not left much for me). It also depends on what meat you get - i like getting turkey from farmer's market, the store ones don't taste as good. will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Very good receipt without changing anything from the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RICKMCCJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I totally agree, this is the greatest dish. I added carrots and potatoes that I had pre-boiled, for the last hour. I also added half a pear prior to that, after the legs had roasted maybe half an hour. I also didn't put butter under the skin but just added it to the roast and occasionally basted and I used no spices or herbs, just salt and pepper. In my 54 years of eating other people's good cooking (my Mom, sisters, etc.), I have to say, this is about the best turkey, the best potatoes, and the best carrots I've ever had (and I made it, still can't believe it). Thankyou so much for this. And it took 15 minutes of shopping and 15 minutes of prep time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
i followed reviewer ink's directions and it came out really good. i will say that if i didn't.. i don't believe it would have come out as tasty. still sorta tough, though. i guess turkey will never be as juicy as other poultry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Rosemary Roasted Turkey

A moist, flavorful roast turkey rubbed with olive oil, garlic, and fresh herbs.

Tiffany's Herb Roasted Turkey

See how to roast a moist, tender turkey the mess-free way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States