Roasted Turkey Legs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
A good idea recipe as long as you follow some review suggestions. I skipped the butter and just did the celery in the slits followed by a little poultry seasoning. I cooked it at 350 covered fit an hour and a half, uncovered it and put a very small amount of butter on the top side then browned it just a little maybe 10-15 minutes. We made gravy with the drippings plus some chicken stock I had on hand and had this with mashed potatoes. My husband really enjoyed it so it was worth trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndrewsCuteCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Photo by jenninca64
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Forgot the celery, made with out, 5 stars, did add poultry seasonings with the butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenninca64

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I did not have celery so omitted that. I used 1/2 c water and 1/2 broth. Other than that followed exactly. Cooked for 1 1/2 hrs. But it came out very, very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I don't eat meat, but prepared it for my adult children, one who is very picky. They loved it. I also added onions inside the leg, and put some in the roasting pan, and sprinled paprika on the skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I too put in brine (Boiled water with salt, so the salt will dissolve, bay leaves and some vinegar). I did that before finding this recipe. Added salt, pepper, Thyme, Paprika, a little olive oil and garlic. Rubbed. I put Basil in the pan, not on the Leg. I added a little chicken stock in the pan. Covered loosely for 1-1.5 hours at 400 degrees. Took out of over and let sit. Very good! and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
My husband said these were the best turkey legs he has ever tasted, and I agree. They were moist and tasty. I will make these again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by thursty9
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Great recipe. I made a few changes, though. 1: I added thyme, rosemary, parsley, cayenne pepper, and red pepper flakes to the butter and made a rub I put under the skin and all over each leg 2: I punctured a whole in each leg near the bone and put a half clove of garlic and a roughly cut cippolini onion in 3: I added baby red potatoes, carrots, celery and onions all around the legs and used the remaining butter mixutre to coat each 4: I put a cup of chicken broth over everything. I cooked uncovered like the directions ask, but I turned up the oven to 375 to get them more crispy. They came out juicy and delicious and I didn't need gravy as the juices at the bottom of the pan were gravy enough. Definitely will make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thursty9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I finally had a chance to try these the other day...I wish I had done so sooner, they were delicious!!! I followed the recipe exactly, it was so fast and easy. The turkey legs turned out so moist, tender and flavorful. I had one leg left over and pulled the meat off it for my husbands lunch the next day. I asked him how is sandwich was and he said it was awesome. I've found another keeper, thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dundalk, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I have made these many times and is a super easy dish. My only recommendation is to make sure the turkey legs are moderate in size, I made it once with huge legs and it wasn't nearly as good. I also add some onion in with the celery and don't use as much butter. This has become a favorite in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aljeromeh
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I revised this recipe a little because I was out of an ingredient. instead of celery, I pressed large pieces of white sweet onions into each turkey leg. Then instead of salt, I used the "dry rub for all occasions" (see recipe - http://allrecipes.com/recipe/dry-rub-for-all-occasions/detail.aspx) and instead of water I used chicken broth. The meat was tender and juicy, the outside was browned really well and the taste was OMG!!! My sons (who are my biggest critics) loved them. Will be using this recipe over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aljeromeh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irvington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Rosemary Roasted Turkey

A moist, flavorful roast turkey rubbed with olive oil, garlic, and fresh herbs.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States