Roasted Tomato Salsa I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2003
Great salsa! The first time I made it, I thought that the charred skin was to be removed before blending. I tried it both ways and found the charred skin adds a lot of flavor. I core the tomatoes & jalapeno, cut them in two and place them skin side up before broiling; I found this faster and not as messy handling the hot foods. Great way to eat healthy tomatoes; I use this sauce as a side dish with chicken or beef too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
282 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
I've made this salsa a number of times, and adjusted it each time. I have add about 8-10 cloves of garlic to one batch; it was excellent. I also have swapped the jalapeno out and replaced it with habaneros and scotch bonnets, just to see how it tastes. If you like a bit more heat than what a jalapeno delivers, try the scotch bonnet variety instead (be sure to wash your hands well after handling and do NOT touch your eyes!). I also have used a small spanish onion or red onion, and like the results better than with a plain white onion. One very helpful thing I've done based on the advice of another reviewer: I halve and core the tomatoes *before* putting them in to roast and remove the skin from the garlic cloves as well. It makes it MUCH easier to handle after you take them out from under the broiler. Very good, adaptable recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
269 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
This recipe is very easy and flavorful. My favorite suggestion has been to add 2-3 tsp of Liquid Smoke. The Smoked Tomato Salsa has been very popular this summer. Thanks, Katherine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAD4CUISINE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2002
We used tomatoes from our garden rather than Romas which tasted fine but was very liquidy after blackening. Wish I would have cored before broiling. We offset the sweet taste with more salt and added a chipotle chili (the canned kind in the adobo sauce). The result was outstanding. Will make this one everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2003
This was a really good recipe. Maybe I am not very proficient with a food processor but I found that hand-chopping all the ingredients (though more time consuming) pays off because it tasted much better, was less watery, and every thing was more evenly chopped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
We LOVE this stuff! I have to check the chip supply when I make this because once we start, we can't stop! I'm making a double batch today for the holiday weekend and visiting relatives. Two jalapenos is perfect for us, but they like their salsa super hot...so I'll double that amount for them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2002
This was my first salsa and was SO good. If you don't like it too hot you may want to omit some of the jalepeno seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
Thank you for this tasty & easy to make salsa. It was my first attempt at homemade salsa and it couldn't have been more rewarding. My husband raved and I was thrilled....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2002
I've made this recipe a few times, and each time it tastes different...but good all the same. Getting the roasted skins off the vegetables is a bit time consuming, but overall, the time that goes into it is worth it. Tastes especially good mixed into ground beef for Mexican dishes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
My family loves this salsa. We have made it three times since I downloaded the recipe one week ago. Another plus is this is very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fire-Roasted Cherry Tomato Salsa

See what fire-roasting the tomatoes does for this simple salsa.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States