Roasted Tomato Salsa I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2001
This was a tasty salsa perfect for when vine-ripened tomatoes aren't in season. To make prep easier, I would advise steming and coring the jalapeno and tomatoes, respectively, before roasting. The roasting brings out the natural sugar in the tomatoes, making for a sweeter salsa. If you prefer your salsas less sweet, prepare the day before, refrigerate, and bring to room temperature before serving. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2001
I think the roasting ruined this potentially good salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2001
Very good. I really like this flavor. The thing is to put enough jalapenos, that will spice it up and the salsa won't be too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2001
This is a recipe with alot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Felicia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Providence Village, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2001
I love roasted vegetables, and this was perfect! We added some corn to it after it was all chopped and sitting on the stove for a few minutes. I ended up making about 8 jars and we only have 2 left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2001
This is exactly the taste I was hoping for. Next time I will add more jalapenos but it is an excellent, fresh tasting salsa. Thanks, Katherine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2002
I made this salsa for a barbecue; people loved it and wanted the recipe. I added two jalapenos to the mix--the added spiciness offsets the sweetness. I also left the cilantro out (someone was allergic), and the sauce was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2002
Enjoyed this salsa, will make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2002
We used tomatoes from our garden rather than Romas which tasted fine but was very liquidy after blackening. Wish I would have cored before broiling. We offset the sweet taste with more salt and added a chipotle chili (the canned kind in the adobo sauce). The result was outstanding. Will make this one everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2002
I am tring this recipe tomarrow but,have a similar raw recipe using cherry tomatoes.I you can resist using the cherries in everything else when they come in on your plant they make a great salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fire-Roasted Cherry Tomato Salsa

See what fire-roasting the tomatoes does for this simple salsa.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States