Roasted Tomato Salsa I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I got a food processor for my birthday and this is the recipe I chose to try it out on. It was great! I LOVE the fact that it's all fresh ingredients that go into this salsa. I did feel as though something was missing, however. I'll play around with this one for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
This salsa isn't quite what I was hoping it would be. I can taste every individual ingredient (including the olive oil) instead of all the flavors melding together into one. Overall, the tomato flavor is overpowered by everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
The best salsa recipe I've found!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
This is a great recipe to use tomatoes from the garden. Make the recipe as directed or omit the cilantro and add Italian herbs for a great pasta sauce. This sauce freezes well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Running Springs, California, USA
Living In: Star, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
My first time making salsa, too. YUM! I omitted the jalapeno and added some crushed red pepper instead. I added a few drops of liquid smoke and used dehydrated chopped onions instead of fresh (due to my allergy to raw onions), and added 1/2 tsp. of sugar. I also like chunkier salsa so I chopped instead of using the blender. Gave half to friends, and between them and myself, it was all eaten before the end of the evening. That was last week. I made an un-roasted version last night and let it sit in the fridge so the flavors could blend...I just went and stirred it up, and I am seriously considering having chips and salsa for breakfast. I will never buy salsa at the store again. I made three times as much for half the price of one bottle of my favorite brand. And this recipe is way better. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Caraloopy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
This is a great Salsa recipe. Roasting or grilling the veges is key to this recipe. I used a serano pepper because its what I had on hand. Next time I'll cut the cumin down a little and add another pepper to kick up the heat a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
I added some corn, and it made it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
Yum! I made 1/2 a recipe which was perfect to have with our mexican dinner plus a little leftover. I cut & seeded tomatos and jalapenos and peeled the garlic before roasting. My husband suggested that I peel the tomoatos next time. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
So good. Cut andSeed the tomatoes (don't core thm) before you roast them. Add a bell pepper, cored and halved and roast it too. Put them on a wire rack on top of a rimmed cookie sheet so the heat will surround the vegetables instead of allowing them to boil in their own juices (although I still add the juices back into the salsa before pureeing). Adding a teaspoon each of garlic powder and onion powder makes this dish transcendent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QAEDON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
This was super messy. But really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States