Roasted Tomato Salsa I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Loved it, very easy. I haved everything before broiling and and removed jalapeno seeds and tomato cores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Delicious! Roasting the vegetables really added a special flavor to the salsa that I enjoyed. The roasting seems to smooth over the acidity of the tomatoes. I used this recipe for a party and it was very popular! My husband loved it - he's a big salsa guy and likes spicy foods, so I did not remove the jalapeno seeds. It was kicky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane442

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I roasted all ingredients, including unseeded, quartered tomatoes WITH a can of stewed tomatoes. Drained as much of the liquid as possible from the stewed tomatoes and reserved. The stewed tomatoes gave the salsa a more intense flavor. I didn't dump the entire thing in the food processor after broiling- I strained the watery liquid out first, then processed. Added the liquid from the can of stewed tomatoes since it had greater flavor, a little at a time. Added a little ketchup as someone suggested, which resulted in a vinegary sweetness. Adjusted with LOTS of lime juice. It was the best salsa I've made so far- really balanced yet intense! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coqui

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
I did what other reviewers suggested and cored the tomatos and peeled the garlic before roasting which was wise. Aside from that, I prepared it as written. It was good, but very watery. Next time I'll seed some of the tomatos and I also like my salsa spicier, so I'll add another jalapeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
great recipe. I chopped the vegetables by hand instead of using the food processor, giving the salsa a chunkier texture. I also added in 1 tsp of tomato ketchup and a bunch of fresh mint leaves....heavenly!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I got a food processor for my birthday and this is the recipe I chose to try it out on. It was great! I LOVE the fact that it's all fresh ingredients that go into this salsa. I did feel as though something was missing, however. I'll play around with this one for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
This salsa isn't quite what I was hoping it would be. I can taste every individual ingredient (including the olive oil) instead of all the flavors melding together into one. Overall, the tomato flavor is overpowered by everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
The best salsa recipe I've found!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
This is a great recipe to use tomatoes from the garden. Make the recipe as directed or omit the cilantro and add Italian herbs for a great pasta sauce. This sauce freezes well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gayle McKee Rowley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Running Springs, California, USA
Living In: Star, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
My first time making salsa, too. YUM! I omitted the jalapeno and added some crushed red pepper instead. I added a few drops of liquid smoke and used dehydrated chopped onions instead of fresh (due to my allergy to raw onions), and added 1/2 tsp. of sugar. I also like chunkier salsa so I chopped instead of using the blender. Gave half to friends, and between them and myself, it was all eaten before the end of the evening. That was last week. I made an un-roasted version last night and let it sit in the fridge so the flavors could blend...I just went and stirred it up, and I am seriously considering having chips and salsa for breakfast. I will never buy salsa at the store again. I made three times as much for half the price of one bottle of my favorite brand. And this recipe is way better. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Caraloopy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fire-Roasted Cherry Tomato Salsa

See what fire-roasting the tomatoes does for this simple salsa.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States