Roasted Tomato Salsa I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
I love the smokey flavor that comes from cooking the tomatoes. I actually used a deep skillet on the stovetop and got great results without heating up the house with the broiler. My tomatoes were vine ripe from the backyard garden as were the jalapenos. I used a sweet onion instead, cleaned out the fridge, and it worked nicely. I could use a little more heat, but overall a great salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
As recommended, I roasted all of the ingredients beforehand. I left everything else the same and it turned out absolutely wonderful! This was a great way to mix up your regular salsa routine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalnems

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Made this for our Family's Cinco de Mayo celebration. It was a major hit. I up'd the salt to 1 tsp and added another chili pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
I'm sorry to have to disagree and give such a low rating, but I really did not enjoy the flavor of this salsa at all. I had to do a lot of "doctoring" to get it to a point where it was palatable for us. The problem was the cooked taste of the tomatoes--like stewed tomatoes instead of a nice, fresh taste. Not sure if I did something wrong, but I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
The family loved this salsa. The Hungry Teen did remark it was "too tomatoey". LOL, it is tomato salsa after all? I had mine under the broiler for 35 minutes turning occasionally and they skins were just starting to get charred on the tomatoes while the jalapeno was very nicely charred. The next time I fix this I will cut the tomatoes in half first and removed the centers as it was such a mess dong so after they were cooked. Mine still could have used more broiling time. I put two extra cloves garlic in (two unpeeled as directed and two peeled since I couldn't believe the directions in case the unpeeled ones were a mistake). I used all of them in the salsa and it was great. I only used 3/4 of a Texas sweet onion. It took 6 mexican key limes to equal 3 Tbl. I will use 1 more jalapeno in the future though as this was rather mild. The husband absolutely loved this! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Very very TASTY!!! Next time i will bake my veggies longer and add more jalapeno. Over all though it was wonderful! A big hit with the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
It was just alright. I guess I prefer fresh salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Just made a batch of this for The Super Bowl (GO SAINTS!!!)! I've been making fresh salsa for years, but came across this recipe, & thought I'd give it a go! It turned out fantastic! I added a couple of chopped chipotles, & a tablespoon of the adobo sauce (I like it hot), & gave it a shot of siracha! I also took the advice of a reviewer & added two tablespoons of liquid smoke! Thanks for the recipe, I'll definitely be making this again! Cheers! \ m /
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ric

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
This was good but waaaaay not even close to spicy enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k861084

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Great recipe, tasty and fresh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fire-Roasted Cherry Tomato Salsa

See what fire-roasting the tomatoes does for this simple salsa.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States