Roasted Tomato Salsa I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
really good base recipe, I added roasted poblano peppers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chlady1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I only had 5 roma tomatoes on hand and I was looking for a salsa recipe so they wouldn't go bad. I added another jalapeno, one tsp of cyanne (sp?), and the salsa was wonderful. My 20 year old said it was the best salsa he has ever had. I kept all the other ingredients the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tejay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Really great recipe! This was my first time making homemade salsa and I researched a bunch of recipes before settling on this one. It's easy and the outcome is amazing. I cut the recipe in half, but accidentally used too much jalapeno pepper (1 1/2 peppers) because I wanted it spicy, and boy was it! Definitely going to only use 1/2 a jalapeno next time, which is what the recipe calls for if you make 12 servings instead of 24. Very flavorful and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Hands down my fav, thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
This is the best salsa recipe out there. If you don't decide to use this recipe, at least ALWAYS, ALWAYS, ALWAYS CHAR BROIL YOUR VEGGIES!!! This makes the world of a difference. Soooooooo yummy! :) I food processed it, instead of blending it becuase I find when I blend it it is too watery. When broiling, peel the garlicand core the jalapeno first. Also, I broiled it a lot longer than 5 to 10 minutes, stirring about every 5 minutes. I stopped broiling until almost every veggie had a little black on it. If you do not have fresh romas, it tasted yummy with 28 oz. can of whole tomatoes, drained.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T-Cat

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
A very simple recipe but, since I'm from Texas, I'm used to very spicy or hotter. Next time I will add more jalapeños for more of a bite. I did add some hot sauce since the salsa was a bit bland along with some garlic powder. Now we're getting close!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Thank you so much for posting this recipe. This was my first home made salsa and the roasted veggies added so much flavour to it! I have saved this recipe and it will definitely be a go to favourite for me! Loved it plain with the chips and on baked nachos! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassandra
Home Town: Bancroft, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Very Tasty Salsa, just added 2 more cloves of garlic and 1 more jalapeno...EXCELLENT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Just so-so. If you want a fresh salsa with crisp veggies then this is not the recipe you should use. The result after charring the veggies, is more like salsa you buy in a jar or like cooked salsa. Even if that is what you want, there was just something about the result that was just 'average'. Won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I didn't have fresh roma tomatoes, but I did have some that were already skinned and frozen from this year's garden. I roasted the rest of the vegetables and just added the tomatoes to the blender and blended the salsa smooth. I also omitted the cilantro because I don't care for it. My friends and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fire-Roasted Cherry Tomato Salsa

See what fire-roasting the tomatoes does for this simple salsa.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States