Roasted Tomato Salsa I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Delicious!!! Roasting the ingredients brings out all the flavor in the tomatoes. I will definitely make this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SDEGRAW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Simple and delicious. This is my very first attempt at salsa and it made me look like a pro. I read all of the comments about how difficult it was to stem, core, and peel the charred vegetables - I handled this by letting them cool before handling and processing. Someone suggested using parchment in the baking pan, and that was also very helpful. When I processed in the food processor, I only had to pulse it 3-4 times. Pulsing any more would have made the end product too soupy, as another reviewer discovered. Thanks for a simple and delicious way to use all of the tomatoes I have been given over the summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
I didn't review it yet because I just got done preparing it. I don't know if I did it right though, because it looks nothing like the picture. It is very watery, and I blended everything in the mixer except for the tomatoes. I chopped the tomatoes by hand thinking that would make it chunkier, but it didn't. Did I do something wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Mmmmm...I just finished making this salsa & it is delicious, I hope I have some left for my husband when he gets home ; ) I didn't have my veggies close enough to the broiler so it took a while longer to roast. Will make this again. Like most people I did tweak it a little. We have a smoker/griller and I am going to use it for my tomatoes next time to see how much more flavor this recipe will have. I baked cut up tortillas for chips...very good with this salsa. My first review on this site, thank you to all of you that put up your recipes I have used many of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harlan, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
winner!! 1st time to ever make salsa love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Very good salsa. I didn't have everything to roast (I have jarred minced garlic and jarred sliced jalapeno) so I just roasted the tomatoes, but it makes for a very flavorful salsa anyway. I wanted a chunkier salsa so I nixed the food processor altogether and just roughly chopped. Very nice, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Not my kind of salsa...it has a very smokey flavor that I didn't care for. On the other hand, the rest of my office seemed to like it. Worth a try, it's inexpensive to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
really good base recipe, I added roasted poblano peppers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chlady1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I only had 5 roma tomatoes on hand and I was looking for a salsa recipe so they wouldn't go bad. I added another jalapeno, one tsp of cyanne (sp?), and the salsa was wonderful. My 20 year old said it was the best salsa he has ever had. I kept all the other ingredients the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tejay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Really great recipe! This was my first time making homemade salsa and I researched a bunch of recipes before settling on this one. It's easy and the outcome is amazing. I cut the recipe in half, but accidentally used too much jalapeno pepper (1 1/2 peppers) because I wanted it spicy, and boy was it! Definitely going to only use 1/2 a jalapeno next time, which is what the recipe calls for if you make 12 servings instead of 24. Very flavorful and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States