Roasted Tomato Salsa I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
I made the recipe as written, and in the food processor, it was very thick. I added the lime juice and seasonings, and have a total of maybe 3/4 cup of salsa, all told. I used 12 roma tomatoes. The tomatoes were still juicy when I put them in the food processor, I guess just not enough. I dunno what happened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
This is fantastic! I changed the recipe a little by 2 jalapeno peppers, 2 chipotle peppers in adobe sauce, a yellow bell pepper, 6 garlic cloves, 1 tsp of honey and more salt. I also left out the cilantro because my husband doesn't like it. I love it and so does everyone who has tried it. Such a hit, I may never buy salsa again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Delicious!!! I ate with Rice crackers for a more healthy alternative, and didn't miss the chips. The roasted jalopeño had a different kind of hot - one that was yummy and hot but didn't burn in my throat. Can't wait to serve it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Essex, Iowa, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
A great starting place - the time for broiling was quite a bit off for me, but not a big deal, I just made sure each veg was nicely charred before taking them out. A quick churn in the food processor made quick, easy work vs. all the chopping required with fresh salsa! I threw in a chipotle in adobo for some heat and extra smokey flavor. Use your judgement on the salt, pepper, cumin, and lime juice... yours may need more or less than the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Sooo tasty! I did core the tomatoes and place them skin up before I broiled them. To add a little extra "smoke" flavor and spice, I added 2 chipotle pepppers in Adobo sauce. SOO yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lytle, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Love this way of making salsa... It's definitely more work since you have to roast the veggies but it's worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I've made this recipe two times in the past wk. I used six Roma & four medium vine-ripened tomatoes. Before I roasted under the broiler: I cored tomatoes & cut them in half; stemmed and two seeded serrano & one jalapeno peppers; skinned garlic. I didn't use cilantro. Delicious recipe! Thank you KATKRO for the inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Yuma, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Delicious!!! Roasting the ingredients brings out all the flavor in the tomatoes. I will definitely make this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SDEGRAW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Simple and delicious. This is my very first attempt at salsa and it made me look like a pro. I read all of the comments about how difficult it was to stem, core, and peel the charred vegetables - I handled this by letting them cool before handling and processing. Someone suggested using parchment in the baking pan, and that was also very helpful. When I processed in the food processor, I only had to pulse it 3-4 times. Pulsing any more would have made the end product too soupy, as another reviewer discovered. Thanks for a simple and delicious way to use all of the tomatoes I have been given over the summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
I didn't review it yet because I just got done preparing it. I don't know if I did it right though, because it looks nothing like the picture. It is very watery, and I blended everything in the mixer except for the tomatoes. I chopped the tomatoes by hand thinking that would make it chunkier, but it didn't. Did I do something wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States