Roasted Tomato Salsa I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
This salsa was ok. I will try it again and use half fresh tomatoes and half canned. The fresh ones just didn't have enough flavor. I will also add more jalapeno and less onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Hammond

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
This salsa is great. I made a few changes based on our taste and what I can get at the fresh market where I live. We don't have Roma tomatoes here, so I used regular tomatoes and cut them in fourths and seeded them before roasting in the oven. Also, we love spicy, so I use two or three each of the hottest and second hottest peppers at the market. Also, I used half a head of garlic and added more cumin (not sure how much more since I didn't measure. I used less cilantro. I pureed everything in the blender except the onions, which I chopped and stirred in at the end. A versitle and delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Chengdu, Sichuan Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
Made this as directed except did not find it necessary to use a food processor. It is important to chill this overnight for the flavors to marry. This is salsa for a crowd! We prefer uncooked tomato salsa, but it would take a lot longer to prepare this amount. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
In general, a very good salsa base!! I didn't bother removing cores from tomatos, and only de-stemmed my jalepenos. Because I don't like cilantro, I used Mexican oregano which gave a very unique flavor. I really charred the veggies (purposely!) which gave a really good smoky flavor. I also added some other peppers I had on hand (don't know what kind they were, sorry!) but it all came together very nicely. Just to let you know, if you've never made salsa before.... do NOT go by what it tastes like right after making it!! It will taste totally different in a day or two. I made mine two days prior to needing it, which allowed the full flavor of the ingredients to blend. I would suggest allowing at least 1 full day for flavors to blend before using! A great recipe to add other ingredients to suit your taste, or as-is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
This was so easy and yummy too! I don't even like salsa, but I can't quit eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Locust Grove, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
Wow, what a great salsa! My guests all raved about the "better than restaurant" style salsa. The only change I made was to add a few tablespoons of chopped chipolte chilis in adobo sauce but that's just my preference. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaina Brant

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Ramon, California, USA
Living In: Hoboken, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
Excellent! Don't forget the cilantro (maybe even a little more)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxnard, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
Pretty good but I guess I just had too high expectations. This was good , I just had to increase salt and lime juice a little according to my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
The cumin was way to strong and the other flavors were lacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
This is delicious. I found that after grillig the tomatoes until charred, when it came to processing, the tomatoes mushed, rather than chopped. So it is not a chunky salsa. The flavour is incredible. I did not use jalepeno pepper, but our home grown hot peppers. My daughter said she finally tasted a salsa she likes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States