Roasted Tomato Salsa I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
This is a great table salsa. I followed the recipe and it was very good. I did add the cilantro in with the tomatoes when I pureed it so I didn't have big leaves. I also modified it by adding another pepper (I had a serrano on hand) and it was very good and 4 1/2 stars with the modifications. Next time I will do as another reviewer suggested and core the tomatoes and peppers before I roast them. Doing it after was messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
This was awesome. I did what Karin did and added the adobo chipotle peppers and more salt because I used my garden tomatoes. I cored everything before broiling. Used 8 large garlic cloves and two large jalapeños . Everything else the same except mixed all in the food processor. Will make this every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
An ok recipe, not a keeper for me or family though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
It turned out really well. I made a few alterations. First I started out by using four cloves of already peeled garlic, also I diced a red onion rather than quartering it, since I don't own a food processor. After putting S&P and oil on the veggies I broiled them 10 minutes on each side to ensure charing, I sat them aside to cool in a metal bowl with plastic wrap covering it (that usually helps the skins blister and separate). After letting them cool enough down to be able to handle them, I cored and diced everything. In retrospect I probably should have seeded the Jalapeño before I roasted it, I typically don't like to include the seeds as I prefer things to stay a little on the mild side. Also, I don't have fresh cumin on hand so I did that to taste which is much better than just adding a teaspoon blindly and I just used the juice of one whole lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Easton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frostburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
It was excellent. The second time in desperation I used regular canned diced tomatoes and it was just as good. I drained them first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
This is a wonderful recipe. We recently went on a cruise including Cozumel and we went to a class for salsa and margarita and guacomole class, it was GREAT.. but they didn't tell you how to get the tomatoes soft..so I found this one.. this is very very close to the authentic recipe from Cozumel.. My husband loves this recipe.. and it's totally a keeper, in Texas we have tons of different types of salsas.. this is close to one the Chuy's has.. so if people don't like the texture it's perhaps they are either used to just pico or jared sauce. this is an authentic style Tex-Mex at least. thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
Great recipe fast and easy however if you don't like HOT try less jalapeno it definitely has a bite. But it is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Ok but pretty bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
It's great only problem its too moorish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna McGuire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States