Roasted Tomato Curry Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
AWESOME! I had some frozen tomatoes left over from last summer and they worked beautifully. Roasting the tomatoes is a must, it brings out the wonderful flavor of them. I don't buy saffron because of the cost but substituted a pinch of tumeric. Be warned about tumeric, just a pinch or your soup will be over-powered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albert Lea, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Loved it! I didn't have any saffron and added a pinch of turmeric like the previous reviewer. I also doubled it and even so, it didn't yield a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawnee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
I doubled the carrots and celery, lightly pureed the soup and it was SAVORY, chunky and fresh. I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly except substituted the saffron for just a pinch of tumeric. It was awful. I couldn't even eat it. It sounded delicious though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Excellent! I served this at my book club and everyone loved it! The only complaint is that a double batch wasn't near enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Roasted home-grown plum tomatoes and added some milk at the end of the recipe to thin it out and increase the amount of soup. We really liked it and hubby said I could "make that again".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
This soup is amazing. The saffron really makes it delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOOTIEBOY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
delcious and easy.. I adore saffron and was happy to find a recipe for soup with this I reduced the oil and left out the butter - i need to cut calories
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I roasted my own tomatoes as anything from a can lacks the texture and flavor of freshly made food. I also added just enough homemade chicken stock to get the right consistency, and once the tomatoes were finished, placed them with fresh basil in a bowl and loosely covered until cooled. This is not a bad recipe at all, but like with any food, can be tweaked and changed per "customer" :) I am only rating this as "OK" because I made changes that bettered the overall outcome. I'd still recommend trying it and keeping an open mind to new ideas that can be added. Tomatoes are SO versatile, so have fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabitha L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Whitemouth, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Very good! I did not blend it, added way more curry than called for, and basically tripled it. It was good, but not a lot. I also added garbanzo beans, which did nicely (I roasted them with the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States