Roasted Tomatillo and Garlic Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
I LOVE this stuff. It was surprisingly easy to make, despite the fact that I was nervous about charring vegetables for the first time - also my first go with tomatillos!!! It doesn't exactly taste "smoky" - maybe I should leave a little more of the charred skin on next time (I wish there was a bit more technical advice in the recipe, because the tomatillos charred up and became very soft, so it was hard to "scrape" them). It also has some nice spice to it - if you like salsa's very spicy, I would even dare say you could add another jalapeno or two. This recipe does not make a lot, so if you are preparing it for a party, I would double the recipe (let's put it this way - I could wolf down the whole thing in one sitting if I allowed myself to!!!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
Wonderful! I used two jalapenos, but will do one next time so it will have heat that doesn't get in the way of the flavor. Can't say enough about this one. Only change I made was to do more of a roast (400 degrees for until "roasted" looking, then broil to brown well). Perfect. Two of us killed this in about 2 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA
Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
I deviated a bit from the original recipe, but it inspired me to make a great salsa. I added a few Thai peppers and about an eighth of a red onion, and cut back a bit on the garlic and cilantro. I also left out the black pepper. What I came out with was a smoky green salsa with considerable kick. I'll probably double the recipe next time, because this looks like it'll go pretty quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
Loved this!!! I took another reviewers advice and added some finely diced onion at the end. I used 1 1/2 lbs of tomatillos (grew them in the yard--very easy) two jalepenos and added a little ground chipotle (1/4 tsp). It turned out wonderful. I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hayley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bound Brook, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
This was a great recipe... VERY spicy! To tone down the recipe I added lemon juice to the final product. Very good. I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
This is an authentic recipe...We have made it almost all of our lives like this. But have always left out the black pepper and when I can it in mason jars I leave out the cilantro...Tastes smoother. Very Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
This is awesome! I added 2 tbl of white vinegar and for a bit of tartness. My family ate it right up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
This went over so well with my family. I try to make this as much as possible. LOVE to put it on my rice. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoyLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kittery, Maine, USA
Living In: Farmington, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
this was my first tomatillo recipe and I love the smoky roasted flavor... will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
The (almost)classic recipe. Some folks have mentioned something missing. Dice white onion and add after prep. No need to refrigerate unless you want to tamp down the heat -- fresh salsa always packs more heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States