Roasted Tomatillo and Garlic Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
This is an authentic recipe...We have made it almost all of our lives like this. But have always left out the black pepper and when I can it in mason jars I leave out the cilantro...Tastes smoother. Very Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
I LOVE this stuff. It was surprisingly easy to make, despite the fact that I was nervous about charring vegetables for the first time - also my first go with tomatillos!!! It doesn't exactly taste "smoky" - maybe I should leave a little more of the charred skin on next time (I wish there was a bit more technical advice in the recipe, because the tomatillos charred up and became very soft, so it was hard to "scrape" them). It also has some nice spice to it - if you like salsa's very spicy, I would even dare say you could add another jalapeno or two. This recipe does not make a lot, so if you are preparing it for a party, I would double the recipe (let's put it this way - I could wolf down the whole thing in one sitting if I allowed myself to!!!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
This was very different, but good. We used only the jalapenos called for and it was HOT! It seems to be missing something, but I can't figure out what it is...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Homeward Hearts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
Use Chicken stock instead of water, and make sure you don't "scrape" off the charred parts of the chiles, because the skins of Jalapenos don't need to be removed like other chiles. I don't use the black pepper. Great Salsa Verde!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
Wonderful! I used two jalapenos, but will do one next time so it will have heat that doesn't get in the way of the flavor. Can't say enough about this one. Only change I made was to do more of a roast (400 degrees for until "roasted" looking, then broil to brown well). Perfect. Two of us killed this in about 2 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA
Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
I deviated a bit from the original recipe, but it inspired me to make a great salsa. I added a few Thai peppers and about an eighth of a red onion, and cut back a bit on the garlic and cilantro. I also left out the black pepper. What I came out with was a smoky green salsa with considerable kick. I'll probably double the recipe next time, because this looks like it'll go pretty quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
This went over so well with my family. I try to make this as much as possible. LOVE to put it on my rice. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoyLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kittery, Maine, USA
Living In: Farmington, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
This was a great recipe... VERY spicy! To tone down the recipe I added lemon juice to the final product. Very good. I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
Easy recipe and very spicy. The only reason I give it a 4 star is because I think it is lacking a spice or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
this was my first tomatillo recipe and I love the smoky roasted flavor... will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Vibrant condiment sauce made with tomatillos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States