Roasted Tomatillo and Garlic Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
This is an authentic recipe...We have made it almost all of our lives like this. But have always left out the black pepper and when I can it in mason jars I leave out the cilantro...Tastes smoother. Very Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
This salsa was excellent after I followed suggestions by another reviewer to cook off the raw taste from the salsa. I cooked the salsa for 5 mins on med to med low heat.I also added lime juice and some ground cumin to add a little more smoke to the flavor. I will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAINTGIRL2U

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Encino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
Wonderful! I used two jalapenos, but will do one next time so it will have heat that doesn't get in the way of the flavor. Can't say enough about this one. Only change I made was to do more of a roast (400 degrees for until "roasted" looking, then broil to brown well). Perfect. Two of us killed this in about 2 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA
Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
I LOVE this stuff. It was surprisingly easy to make, despite the fact that I was nervous about charring vegetables for the first time - also my first go with tomatillos!!! It doesn't exactly taste "smoky" - maybe I should leave a little more of the charred skin on next time (I wish there was a bit more technical advice in the recipe, because the tomatillos charred up and became very soft, so it was hard to "scrape" them). It also has some nice spice to it - if you like salsa's very spicy, I would even dare say you could add another jalapeno or two. This recipe does not make a lot, so if you are preparing it for a party, I would double the recipe (let's put it this way - I could wolf down the whole thing in one sitting if I allowed myself to!!!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
For those of you that aren't certain about roasting the tomatillos, the skin should be very dark brown to black.Also, if you halve the tomatillos and put them cut side down on a foil lined cookie sheet, you don't have to turn them. This is the method I use to roast my tomatillos and peppers for Chili Verde and it worked very well for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
Loved this!!! I took another reviewers advice and added some finely diced onion at the end. I used 1 1/2 lbs of tomatillos (grew them in the yard--very easy) two jalepenos and added a little ground chipotle (1/4 tsp). It turned out wonderful. I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hayley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bound Brook, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2008
Excellent! Roasting all the ingredients really makes the difference. I used three different types of mild peppers in addition to what was called for in the recipe, and added some cumin and cinnamon. Really worth the time and it keeps really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrison, Ohio, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
This was a great recipe... VERY spicy! To tone down the recipe I added lemon juice to the final product. Very good. I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
I deviated a bit from the original recipe, but it inspired me to make a great salsa. I added a few Thai peppers and about an eighth of a red onion, and cut back a bit on the garlic and cilantro. I also left out the black pepper. What I came out with was a smoky green salsa with considerable kick. I'll probably double the recipe next time, because this looks like it'll go pretty quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
This was very different, but good. We used only the jalapenos called for and it was HOT! It seems to be missing something, but I can't figure out what it is...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Homeward Hearts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States