Roasted Tomatillo and Garlic Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
awesome recipe, i added a serrano pepper to get a little extra heat. I replaced the water with the juice of 1 lime. it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tooele, Utah, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I just made this and it is excellent! My husband and I can't stop eating it. I did add a little red onion and lime juice. Had it with the 7 layer dip that's on here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
For those of you that aren't certain about roasting the tomatillos, the skin should be very dark brown to black.Also, if you halve the tomatillos and put them cut side down on a foil lined cookie sheet, you don't have to turn them. This is the method I use to roast my tomatillos and peppers for Chili Verde and it worked very well for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
husband loved! (with minced garlic out of the jar and 1/2 the cilantro).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This is awesome! I tweaked it a tad... chopped a medium onion and sauteed in light oil added about teasoon of oregano to that onion put it in the blender with the other stuff and I used fresh minced garlic so I browned that in a light canola oil too in a pan all the rest I roasted in the broilerused fresh cracked pepper and sea salt.... Deliciouso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
excellent. simple yet effective. i added the juice from a lime and swapped the peppers out for various others to change things up. also added some a little red bell pepper for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dempster333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This was quite nice to make and eat, even if it wasn't very spicy at all (I like my salsas blazing-hot). It was also the first time I'd ever cooked with tomatillos, and also (I think) my first time roasting veggies under the broiler. I made it exactly as written, although I might not have roasted the veggies to the required doneness - I was worried about overdoing it. The garlic cloves were a bit browned when I took them out, and the tomatillos and jalapeños were a bit blackened, but not very much. The results had a nice body (I added less than half of the 1/2-cup of water). The refrigerate-until-serving step is a must, I found. I hastily tasted the salsa right after it was put together, and it wasn't that great. The chilling definitely makes a difference. I'd like this a lot hotter, and perhaps should try adding some lime juice like others suggested, but as is, I still enjoyed this a lot - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
That picture looks like some kinda nasty growth, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by getmethebutter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Use fresh lime juice instead of water. I've been doing it this way for a few years ever since I got a food processor. The only way to make Tomatillo Salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
this salsa is amazing! i modified the original recipe a little bit. i used 2 lbs of tomatillos since that was what was ready in my garden that day, 2 jalapenos (the salsa still has quite a kick), 2 heads of garlic, 1/2 cup of fresh cilantro leaves (no stems), 2 heaping tablespoons of brown sugar, 1/4 tspn ground chipolte, and a pinch each of cumin and cinnamon, 1 tspn of salt and omitted the blk. pepper. i used my food processor to grind the garlic and cilantro together with a wee bit of olive oil and then added the peppers and tomatoes and processed until 'smooth'. then i transferred everything to a saucepan, added my seasonings and cooked it all for about 10-15 minutes before transferring to clean, warm ball jars. i yielded 26 ounces of the best tasting salsa i have ever had in my life. really. i wish i knew if i could safely put up a bunch of this because i would load my pantry with it. it is soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Vibrant condiment sauce made with tomatillos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States