Roasted Swiss Chard with Feta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by domichan
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Stunningly good! The crispy edges on the chard really make this dish. I added a chopped up red bell pepper to the bottom layer and the flavors blended together nicely. I also used fat-free feta. I had to keep myself from eating the entire pan! Edited to add: I tried this again tonight, using kale instead of chard and goat cheese crumbles instead of feta. Gonna have to give it 5 stars as well. Served it on top of a lemony pasta. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Yummy! Really mellows the swiss chard. We're eating it right from the pan. When adding your salt "to taste," don't forget that the feta is salty, too. Next time I might sprinkle some walnuts on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I've never had Swiss Chard before, so decided to try this. What a nice surprise! I substituted parmesan for feta because of my boys preference, added a splash of balsamic vinegar, and cut the olive oil in half. My 16 yr old son really like the leaves, but not the stems, and my 10 yr old son said "yeah, its okay". I loved it! Just waiting for my husband to try when he gets home from work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RouxZQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Bruno, California, USA
Living In: Valencia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
First time cooking chard. Followed recipe as written and it was fabulous! Next time I will make a double batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
We got 2 giant leaves from a kids event at a local farm today. Not having the heart to toss them and wondering what they would taste like I deced to try this dish. 2 large leaves was enough of a side for a family of 4. My 7 and 9 yr old LOVED it. I was so excited they liked another green veggies. WIll be making this again for sure. Followed exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Fantastic dish! My husband was dubious and announced he wouldn't be having the chard dish. He then ate half the pan! I used the leftover to make a quiche the next day and it was wonderful. (quiche with 2 eggs and 2/3 of a small 35% cream container)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Wow, so delicious! My garden has been producing lots of swiss chard, and it has been ornamental thus far, since my husband doesn't like the flavor... or so we thought! The top layer of chard got crispy, almost like a kale chip, and the bottom cooked perfectly. Can't believe how roasting the chard changes it flavor (from my usual cook in bacon and onions on the stove flavor.) I love this recipe, also devine when you throw in a couple cloves of crushed garlic. I can't wait to try some red bell pepper or walnuts in this as other reviewers suggested. Also, I made the mistake of oversalting the first time- feta alone is enough salt for us! Drooling still, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I really enjoyed the crispy chard leaves, but disliked the rest of the recipe. Chard stems taste like beets to me (which I never had a taste for) and 4 oz of feta was way too much. A little goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Oh my goodness, I actually DREAMED about this last night after I ate it (and woke up wishing I had some leftover!) This was so, so good and easy. I had less chard than the recipe called for, so I adjusted the ingredients accordingly. I used some green onions from my mom's garden, plus I added some green garlic that I also got in my CSA box with the chard. I didn't really pay attention to how long I cooked the stems, but I popped in the leaves after cooking them for a while and they were perfect after 15 minutes (but I had way less chard than called for.) Roasting the feta really brings out the flavor and complements the taste of the chard to perfection. I'm already hoping for more chard in my CSA box, but will go buy it at the store if I don't get any. Already craving it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Wow, this is great. Tastes like spinach pie without the FILO dough and calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North East, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States